When art comes to life

Or so it appears. If you have an imagination and art inspires you to a world that might not have been or a world you would have liked it to be, you can’t help but be moved by it. Upong seeing a work of art painted by one of the greatest artists of history, how can you not be inspired?

This past week I watched “Girl with a Pearl Earring”. This movie was inspired by a painting done by Dutch artist Jan Vermeer (1632 – 1675). Vermeer’s artwork has been known to be extremely realistic with his ability to use light in his paintings. If you are an art enthuist such as myself, you will love this movie and I highly recommend it. I can’t believe I missed this movie as I always love movies about art and historic artists.

Here is the movie trailer.

A little known secret not many people know (well, they do now) is that growing up one of my first “aunts” was from Holland. Her name is Vera. Vera would show me Dutch cartoons and Dutch artwork. I’ve grown to like the blue and white dinner plates and cups, ceramic tiles that is typical in their homes. I have a special love towards Dutch culture. It doesn’t hurt either I dated a very sweet Dutch guy several years ago. We could have gotten married, but I wasn’t ready for it. Holland is a country I would love to visit one day. I follow a blogger who blogs from Holland! She knows who she is!

I know what its like to be inspired. I once saw a picture of a painting of a boy playing a flute and I was inspired to compose a little song that I thought he might have played. You can find it here below. Just click on the link and find “The French Flute Player” and you’ll hear the song. I’m not sure if the painting is French, but nevertheless, I was inspired.

http://eng.musicshake.com/#!/user/cAnDyGiRL004

I’ve also written about another young Dutch artist on one of my blogs. I think he’s so talented! Here is the video part. I don’t have time to find the link to the entire blog page about him, but it’s here somewhere in my years worth of blogs.

6 thoughts on “When art comes to life

    1. I totally hear you on that one. His artistry is something that does not leave your memory. Have you seen his website? He truly is amazing! He paints people very well. Check it out when you can. Next month onward to Canada! 🙂

  1. Did you get rid of your LIKE buttons because you changed themes? That’s what usually happens. If you want to get them back, let me know. It’s easy but not intuitive. I’ve spent some time camping in your blog today but leaving comments everywhere isn’t feasible. That’s why the LIKE button is so valuable. You see who’s been where.

    1. No, I didn’t get rid of them. I noticed this about six months ago. As I would go back to my old posts, I noticed a popular blog that had many likes had all of the “likes” gone! And I know I had a lot of people like it too. I’m not sure if I did something in my settings or what. I didn’t do it on purpose if I did. Thanks for pointing that out. I also found that weird that I didn’t see them anymore. I’ll try to see if I can mess around with some things on the settings. If not, let me know what I should do. You can contact me at cas7401@gmail.com for details about changing that. Thanks Russel!!!

      1. I’ll put it here so other readers who might be having the same problem can see it.

        Click on Settings, then click on Sharing. Scroll all the way down and on the left you’ll see
        WordPress.com Likes are “on for all posts” or “turned on per post.” Yours probably has the radio button checked for “turned on per post.” Change it to “on for all posts” and you should be set.

  2. Thanks Russel! All my settings were correct as you mentioned, but it still doesn’t explain some have disappeared. I’m not too worried about it. Life goes on, but at least I know at one point the blog posts were liked! Lol

My Lords and Ladies, tell me thine thoughts if it pleases thee below...

