Advice from Mister Rogers when tragedy strikes.

Even though I grew up most of my life down in Brazil, whenever I did spend time in the US, one of my favorite shows to watch growing up was Mister Roger’s Neighborhood. Mister Rogers had a gentle way of teaching you life lessons and how to get through the tough times in life. It’s amazing how a simple thing as puppetry could easily fascinate a young mind and be an easy and age appropriate way to teach values and character traits. Years later when I was in High School, I joined in a puppet team of college students who went to visit tiny towns along the Amazon river. Those memories of playing a character behind the curtain to the thrill and screams of children on the other side was unforgettable. I personally think it was easy to make the children laugh because I still was a child (granted I was maybe 16 years old-same age as my son today) so I still had the kid in me so I was goofy with my puppet. Of course, towards the end my arm hurt and ached, but I still kept going. I’m talking technicality of puppetry, but it brings it back to why as a young child I was fascinated by Mr. Roger’s kingdom with the likes of King Friday, Lady Elaine and Fairchilde. Sure, they were little puppets with really weird faces, but I was mesmerized by the story they told and how they got through their little drama. As I look at my son who is 16 years old, he’s still my baby. His mind is still learning about how the world works, why people do the things they do and how to react to it. Children are so impressionable. The world we live in now is very different from when I was 16 years old. As a 16 year old, drinking out of a water hose was the norm (unheard of today), writing notes and giving it to someone was our version of text messaging. I feel as though as he’s grown up in the 2000’s, I’ve had to explain in terms he can understand the battle between good and evil. The balance he needs to get through it and how he can be of encouragement to his friends. Tragic things happen and we often wonder why it happened. There is so much suffering, sadness in this world and if one allows it, it can destroy one’s view of the good in the world. Yes, tragic things happen, but somewhere in there, there is good. And there is hope. Which is why it’s good to look back at my own childhood figure like Mister Rogers who gave some good advice of how to deal with tragedy.

3 thoughts on “Advice from Mister Rogers when tragedy strikes.

My Lords and Ladies, tell me thine thoughts if it pleases thee below...

