Downtown Brazilian Olympic Party 2016

When I heard there was going to be a Brazilian themed partay downtown Colorado Springs, I knew I just had to go. One, I love me some Brazilian music (it enlivens my soul and spirit) and secondly, it sounded fun! So, we headed down around 5:35 pm and didn’t leave until 10:30 pm. Here are some things we saw while there.

WPamandascamelotpic1

Leaving the public parking lot, we walked down this little alley way and saw this. Seeing three colors on a wall is just pure eye candy for anyone with a camera. Hence, this picture.

WPamandascamelotpic2

I love architecture and looking up is always something I must do when walking around. This was on our way to the festival or partay as I like to say.

WPamandascamelotpic3

There were a good 100 people already walking towards the road block and the roads weren’t quite filled yet. This was my first time walking around downtown and I’ve lived here 19 months! I live up Northeast which is a good 25 minutes away, so I hang around up there most of the time. It was nice, I should come down there more often, there are tons of cool restaurants and shops. My kind of town baby!

WPamandascamelotpic4

The way they had it set up was kind of funny. There were several things going on, so you would hear yells, shouting and clapping from different parts of the road. There were set times for performances and dances, so people would be like herds of cattle moving from one area to the next; it just made me laugh in a weird way to see a huge crowd move like schools of fish, haha. Anyways, here were some lovely ladies performing a typical Northeastern Brazilian dance.

WPamandascamelotpic5

This samba dancer was not only gorgeous, but she wore my favorite color and her outfit was the closest to what the samba dancers in Brazil wear. Sometimes the feathers they wear is so extravagant, it weights up to 50 pounds or more!

WPamandascamelotpic6

WPamandascamelotpic7

WPamandascamelotpic8

Here are some players from a Boulder Samba school. They did a fantastic job and I felt right at home when they did their performance. I was impressed! They are called Bateria de Alegria.

WPamandascamelotpic9

Oh, to be flexible like that once again. I used to be able to do that when I was in middle school taking gymnastics.

WPamandascamelotpic11

Flowers are sprinkle around town. Nothing makes a town more attractive than gardens of flowers on the sidewalks.

WPamandascamelotpic13

It was soon getting dark and people were watching and cheering the Olympians as they walked into the opening ceremony. The loudest cheers from the crowd that night was, of course, when the team from the USA came. Did you know there are 19 Olympians from Colorado? Pretty cool.

We had a fun night and I love crowds. I love walking around and taking in the sights and sounds. The entire time there I wanted to dance with all the Brazilian sounds and music pumping through the speakers. I haven’t had that much fun in a very long time. It was due time.

Here are some things we saw Friday night. I chose specific music to go along with the dances. The only one I wasn’t to do that was the Bateria de Alegria Samba school. I was having issues with my Windows Movie Maker and their sound got deleted. Luckily, I found a song similar to what they were playing. Enjoy the video!

9 thoughts on “Downtown Brazilian Olympic Party 2016

      1. It’s quite fascinating to see the Olympians practicing and running around as you tour the place. The mountains in the background makes the training place quite beautiful, it’s breath taking!

  1. 50 pound feathers! Oh my. LOL at the doppelganger in Walmart. I can picture you stopping to a halt, motioning your head in all directions like an owl with ‘WTH?’ expression =]]

    This is the ’12 Olympic theme song. A fav of mine by one of my fav bands.

    1. Yeah. 50 pounds of feathers! The struggle is REAL for us Brazilian women to flaunt and prance around. LOL. Yes, I looked at Adventure Boy and said, “What just happened?”. Oh wait, that was from something else that happened 2 minute later that I did NOT tweet about (just as funny if not weird. I’ll email you). Owls are cute, have you seen the cute baby owls? Want!!!! Oh, I’ll have to check it out-the video!!!

My Lords and Ladies, tell me thine thoughts if it pleases thee below...

