Hiking & Exploring

AmandasCamelot2016PalmerPark

Well hello there! My first picture for 2016! I’m not even finished with this blog, but I wanted to share with you this picture. I have no idea who those people were, but they framed my picture just right. This is Palmer Park. I’ve never been here before, but I pass it all the time with my new job. Palmer Park is huge to me. I mean, it looks all innocent with a playground when you enter it, but then it takes you on these long snake like roads that go up and down the hills with many picnic areas. It’s truly a maze and like a rabbit hole to explore because of the numerous hiking trails. We chose one scenic spot and parked my car. We walked a five minute hike to a clearing and came across this. What? Where am I? Suddenly I’m in a field, but I was just driving up…now it’s flat with loads of wheat. Am I on a farm? Where does this trail go? I see mountains, but all I see is this long road that leads to nowhere. Exciting yet so beautiful. I had to take some shots which you’ll see later today. This trail leads down and around somewhere, we didn’t take it. Instead we took a left and went down another long trail and hiked for a good 45 minutes.

AmandasCamelot2016PalmerPark1

I’m posting these pictures and I can hardly stay awake. Too bad because I had wanted to make warm, soft ginger bread cookies. Not those hard as a rock I’m-going-to-break-all-my-teeth-just-by-biting-into-one cookie, nope, the soft and chewy kind. Alas, my body is winning this time and my eyelids feel heavy. I fit in 2 hours of studying, made dinner, had gone to the bank, store and another store and finally gave my 30 day notice of leaving my apartment (going to be at another place just down the street) after work. I’m. Just. Tired. Anywho!

AmandasCamelot2016PalmerPark2

The view after we took our left turn. I would never guess some wheat land area would be up on the hilly areas of this park, but as you can see, there are many cliffs and drop offs in the distance. That day (Sunday to be exact), there was some forest fire out to the NorthEast. You could see the smoke billowing off from the mountains, not shown in the picture. There are so many trails to explore and it all depends on what level of a hiker you are. I take it the trail we were on was the beginners because it was mostly flat. Haha. I’m hoping to get to the more advanced ones where I have to hop over rocks and such because that’s what I’m used to coming from Brazil. I read somewhere there are foxes and even cougars at the park. What?! How do I protect myself against a cougar? Now I’m scared! Lol. I didn’t see anything when we went. All we saw were geese flying over and maybe a bird or two.

AmandasCamelot2016PalmerPark4

What can I say. I just love wooden fences.

AmandasCamelot2016PalmerPark5

There was still some snow on the ground, but the lighting caught my attention here.

AmandasCamelot2016PalmerPark6

Stumbled across this cute and cozy picnic table.

5 thoughts on “Hiking & Exploring

      1. Thank you, I most certainly will. I have some great ideas and places I want to blog and take videos of. I know this year, I want to add more videos to my blogs. I’ve been doing that, but I want to do more blogs with videos now. I just wish my Windows Movie Maker was cooperating as I usually use that software to edit my videos and add music. There’s a dog sled ride in Breckenridge, Colorado I want to try out and the snow mobiling!

My Lords and Ladies, tell me thine thoughts if it pleases thee below...

