Day 4 Writing Challenge: Rant about anything

Yeah! I get to rant with this one! Ok, first of all. Watch the video. What did you think? Do you think the old man was justified for faking his own death? The video above is a German commercial for a store much like Walmart. Based on scanning over the comments below the video, it drives me crazy to read how people just don’t “get it”.

I have spent every Christmas with my mom. Come hell or high water, I would have moved mountains to make sure I spent Christmas with my mom. Yes, I understand people marry/get a new job and move cross country and don’t have the money to visit their parents every Christmas, but a nice Skype call or a long telephone call would be nice….better yet, making it for another major holiday to spend with your parent(s) would be nice. No one should spend Christmas alone…much less your own parents? This man had lots of kids and NOT ONE of them could MAKE it to their father’s home? Really?! I’m not saying all the siblings had to come over (albeit they did at the end), but at least one of the siblings could have made it. Not one of the siblings got together and said to each other, “Listen, who is going to spend Christmas with dad this year? We gotta make sure dad is NOT alone!” Are these siblings that selfish and into themselves that they can’t make it to their father’s home for Christmas? Their father raised them when they were kids. I’m sure he and his wife provided food, a roof over their heads, made sure they got Christmas presents under the tree when they were kids, went to their school events…and they have the audacity to ignore him at his old age?

Unless you know what it’s like to lose a parent (like myself), let me tell you something. You will find many days (other than Christmas or any other holiday) when you will want to just pick up the phone and talk to your parents. Once they are gone, they are gone. No more hearing their voice over the phone when you call them. When something exciting happens or you just need a little advice, you can’t just call up your parents anymore. I spoke to my mom practically everyday. When I felt sick or scared about something, I’d even call her at 3 am and she’d tell me everything was going to be ok.

My point is, you never know when your last time with your parents/grandparents will be. It might be tomorrow. It might be the next few weeks or it even might be this year. Don’t take your family for granted. You will feel good knowing you said “I love you” or had spent a wonderful time with them the last time you saw them. Believe me and trust me on this one, I can’t not stress it enough, when your parents are gone, you will play over and over your mind everything that happened the last time you saw them. You will either cherish the memories or you will forever live with regret thinking, “I wish I had….or I wish I had said…just one last time.” Make your time with your loved ones the best that you can. I think people take their parents/grandparents for granted…sadly.

Anyways, back to my midnight rant! Good thing he was still alive when they walked in and had prepared a lovely meal for them. Hopefully they stayed and helped clean up instead of running into their SUV’s and forgetting about gramps once again. No one should go to extremes to fake their own death just to get their family together, but this was a prime example of desperation from a man who was fed up of eating alone for Christmas! But to be fair too, gramps could have found a neighbor or gone to a local community where they served Christmas dinner and be around others, but I understand he wanted his own kids there with him.

Whew! That felt good. I knew I felt a rant coming when I saw this commercial!

xoxo

2 thoughts on “Day 4 Writing Challenge: Rant about anything

  1. Totally agree. Sad. We are trying to teach our kids to at least celebrate together or with us etc. When I grew up it was my grandparents, aunt, uncle and their kids. We got together no matter what. Then when grandpa died my aunt got the humbug. I tried and tried to get holidays together again and they gave up. I have finally given up on them and I hate it. So my hubby and I are trying very hard to instill in our kids to get together. His family doesn’t get together either. Great rant! 🙂

    1. Aww, thanks. I just feel bad for people who are forgotten on Christmas by their families. That’s all. In your case, at least you tried right? You can only do so much because you only have one life to enjoy and make memories. That’s great you are instilling great traditions and strong family values to your kids. Decorating cookies, picking out a tree, wrapping presents…these things really are important to pass on to the younger generation. My son is 14 but we still decorate ginger bread cookies and decorate the tree together whilst listening to Christmas songs. We are very, very close and it’s just fun to see him happy and enjoying our time together. 🙂 Thanks for your comment!

My Lords and Ladies, tell me thine thoughts if it pleases thee below...

