Day 2 Writing Challenge: What is strength to you?

*The original challenge was to write a fan fiction, but I might do that in a future post only because it would take me hours to write and I’m not feeling too well right now. Hopefully this will go away soon.

I think one of the greatest strengths a person can have is to have emotional strength. As I’ve grown older I’ve sadly realized how emotionally fragile many people are. It is not their fault they are that way, everyone is different and everyone deals with things in their own way and time.

There are those who even at a young age are thrown into circumstances that open doors of how to handle traumatic events. I personally have experienced traumatic events, but at a young age you need the support and love of loved ones to help you to lead an emotionally healthy life as an adult. I admire people who despite going through very tough times in their lives are able to forget about themselves and help others.

At my former job, one of our new workers was a woman named “Jan”. Jan was very outgoing, bubbly, sweet, always smiling and very funny. I enjoyed my talks with Jan as she would often stop by my desk and we’d giggle about things and joke around. We had similar personalities so our conversations would turn from work related discussions to out right ridiculous topics. One day Jan was telling me about her life history and I was shocked by what she had gone through. I could not believe all she went through; a divorce, cancer, assault, being homeless etc. As she was talking I just looked at her and my eyes started welling up with tears. Jan spoke about her experiences as if she told many people about it, but I just was thinking what a strong and good head on her shoulders she was showing me. I would have never known all she went through because she always showed such a strong persona. A month later she had to return to Puerto Rico to take care of things because her mother suddenly passed away. I’ll always remember Jan and her incredible emotional strength. With my former job, it was extremely stressful because you were taking care of 25 clients each with their own struggles. Day in and day out, dealing with the clients would make you feel like you were carrying the weight of the world with all their problems. Unfortunately, many of the clients had succumbed to dealing with their struggles with drugs, being in abusive relationships, wanting to commit suicide etc and we were there to help shift their mind and activities to live a more productive life.

Discussing emotional strength has always been a favorite topic of mine that I love to discuss. You can learn so much from people who have this trait. How do they do it? Where do they get it from? Who inspired them to become emotionally strong? How do they recharge when they start break apart? How do they maintain it? What advice would they give to others? What event showed them that they had achieved that point? Such a compelling topic. Resilience can be achieved by how we look at adversity. Being positive is key.

Video Credit: CBS Sunday Morning

4 thoughts on “Day 2 Writing Challenge: What is strength to you?

    1. Thank you my dear friend! I do feel better, I think it may have been some stomach illness. I’m working right now on my next blog post which should be posted after midnight! 🙂

My Lords and Ladies, tell me thine thoughts if it pleases thee below...

