The Lantern Festival 2015 Colorado

Saturday night we went to Fountain, Colorado to attend the Lantern Festival 2015. This was an event that had been planned for about 3 months and I couldn’t wait for it! I’ve always wanted to see one of these lantern festivals and didn’t really know that they had them here.

Attending a Lantern Festival is a fun yet very spiritual experience at the same time. Many people attend lantern festivals as a symbolic way of “letting go” of their past or any regrets that they may have. Many others such as myself wanted to symbolically honor our loved ones that have passed away by “letting go” of a lantern towards heaven as if sending a message of love. As some of you may know, I lost my adoptive mother on Thanksgiving Day at 11:30 am after her battle with breast cancer. I was there by her bedside when she passed away. Her birthday is the day after Christmas, so the holidays can be a little tough for me. Early October this year I also got news that my youngest sister passed away due to medical complications. I have 4 sisters so losing a sibling was new to me and only brought up sadness of losing someone special. On a good note from this news, I got in contact with my older sister in Brazil so we now write each other via Facebook. She will be raising my youngest nephew (3 months old) from my sister who passed away. I got to see new pictures of all my beautiful nieces and nephews. I think I’m also a great-aunt!

I almost got hit by unsuspecting lanterns trying to float up. One minute I’m minding my own business and the next I hear someone yelling, “Watch out!” as I turn around just in time to duck a lantern flying past me. The lantern landed a few feet away and someone picked it up and let it fly up. This was happening everywhere, not just me. Another time a lantern floated by, but not towards me. There was laughter and much chatter among everyone, the air was filled with harmony and love. I can’t pin point the feeling, but it was a positive one. Susie Brown was the guest singer and I just love that girl; she’s just one of the most talented and simply gorgeous singers out there! Her songs are great; I just wish I was closer up to the stage to see her. I may have gotten a haircut a year or so ago like hers. Check my twitter photos to find the picture. You’ll see me rockin’ the black hair and short bangs there. Anyways, check out her Twitter and Instagram profile and follow her like me!

Attending a lantern festival was on my bucket list and I’m so glad I finally went to one. If you ever get a chance, check out one out by your city. Trust me, you won’t regret it, it’s one of those moments you won’t ever forget.

Until next time my darlings. xoxo

7 thoughts on “The Lantern Festival 2015 Colorado

  1. I wonder where the cane loops and wires part of the lanterns land. People release lanterns in Wisconsin and sometimes they wash up on the shore here in Michigan. Lanterns are lovely. Maybe someday they will make one that is completely used up in the fire.

    1. Oh wow! Thank you so much! Chris Martin sure has a way with lyrics. That’s one of the reason why I love his songs, they really come from the heart. Much better than angry rap songs about hoes and shootings, right? To be honest, I wasn’t sure I even wanted to publicly post this blog. I knew I wanted to do the video as a memory, but I struggled for a week whether to blog about it. But at the end I decided to only because my blog posts are also a digital memory journal of what’s going on in my world and how I’m doing. Even if people may not understand it. It’s here. It’s pretty much immortal now in the digital sense. Lol. I’m not trying to garner sympathy. If people can relate to it, then so be it, I’m happy. My mom’s life was a celebration. I think she would have been honored or happy to see me do this.

      Did I ever tell you about my first dream about her after she died? She was at her house and there was a potluck going on. All her friends found out she had come down from heaven. I was just there at her house relaxing with her and news got around that she came down to visit. Every one was so excited they started to bring over food. No one seemed to think it was weird that she had died and was alive again, but that is what dreams are made of. Anyways, so she’s looking much younger, livelier and healthy looking. She had a blanket over her lap and was talking to me. I chatted about what life was like for the past few weeks. Her guardian angel was there too. He was young (like 20 yrs old) and had short brown hair with some blond highlights in it; even his hair was somewhat spiked. He wore trendy torn up jeans and a navy and white striped shirt. His eyes were intently focused on my mom as he sat on his chair. I just knew he was an angel, but HER angel. He asked my mom, “Are you read to go back now?” My mom said, “No. I want to spend a little more time with my daughter.”. We spoke again for a time and then it was time for her to go. Her angel held her over both of his outstretched arms and they both looked up and disappeared faster than light into heaven. There was a very, very bright light as they went up. And then she was gone and I woke up. Another time, before deciding to move to Colorado, I had been seriously thinking of moving to Hawaii to start a new life. I wasn’t sure. I was weighing the pros and cons of moving there. In this dream, my mom appeared with me as we walked a Hawaiian beach. She asked me, “Why Hawaii?”. She might’ve asked me other questions, but it was more of a visit from her to really make me think if moving to Hawaii was a good
      thing. I love her visits in my dreams. We keep her spirit very much alive. I tell Adventure Boy, “Imagine if Gamma was here? She’d love Colorado Springs!” or he’ll say, “Gamma would be zipping up and down the mall her in her electric scooter making friends with everyone!” If we go anywhere, we always wonder what she would be saying and we joke because we knew her so well and her sense of humor.

      This is a microblog within a blog. I know people will read this comment and that’s fine. It’s meant to be read! 🙂

      1. A blog within a blog–I like that a lot! Your Mother sounds very lively, even when younger folks now are thinking it’s the end of the world over little trivial things (me included), she made her life living as ‘live each day as it was your last.’ I commend her outlook! I don’t know what it is about dreaming about passed loved ones. My family experienced and shared this like a day after a funeral. Comforting, nonetheless.

        20-something year old Abercrombie & Fitch guardian angel?! Let’s hope my guardian angel is hot….. like Victoria Secrets hot =]]

My Lords and Ladies, tell me thine thoughts if it pleases thee below...

