Weekly Photo Challenge: My happy place

SI_20150927_122403-1

Our weekly photo challenge this week is to showcase a place we are happy at or happiest at. I chose this photo from the waterfalls we went to a few weeks ago. It is here by a waterfall that I feel a piece of home come alive. I could go on an analogy explanation about how it relates to life, but I won’t. It just gives me wonderful memories of my childhood and also of my precious time spent with my mother. Let me explain.

When I was a child my mom would take me to waterfalls deep in the Amazon jungle. It was there that I would play with my friends under the falls and swim about. Sometimes we’d even take a picnic and fry fish over an open fire on a sand dune island. What others may think as a piece of paradise to be swimming in fresh water surrounded by jungle trees, blue butterflies and an abundant amount of sunshine to dry you off, was normal for me growing up. As I grew older and got into my teens, my friends and I would visit our other friend who would then take us to a secret location where another waterfall was.

By the time I was in High School and in my Senior year, we took a 2 week Senior trip all across Brazil, from the tip of the Amazon to Argentina where we saw the amazing “Foz do Iguacu”. If you haven’t been to a World Wonder, you have to go there. I’ve been there twice. Imagine the scene where all the elves lived in the Lord of the Rings trilogy and that is what it’s like when you first see Foz do Iguacu. I was blown away. These waterfalls are not to be messed with, they are hardcore. They are rough! One of the craziest things I’ve ever done in my life and to this day I can’t believe I did it, was to go on a little motor boat with 8 other people and go to the edge of the “Devil’s Throat” waterfall. I suppose I was feeling like a dare devil that day because I didn’t blink an eye when asked to go on the boat. We all wore life jackets, but now that I think about it, if that little motor on that boat gave out we all would’ve gone over the waterfall; I wouldn’t be sitting here writing on this blog to live to tell about it. Here’s a video to show you exactly how magnificent these waterfalls are.

When I came to the USA, my mom and I went to the Canadian side to see Niagara Falls and it was pretty nice, not the prettiest, but definitely massive in the amount of water you witness causing a thunderous sound as it pounds the rocks below.

So you can imagine my delight when I’ve been able to visit two waterfalls here in Colorado Springs (both within half an hour away from where I live), Helen Hunt Falls and this one, Seven Falls that is pictured above. I was so excited to be there at those waterfalls and to just bask in the sun and listening to the water. These falls are in the mountains and this Brazilian girl never experienced hiking and seeing such beauty before, that’s why I enjoyed myself so much that day. Waterfalls in the mountains…. truly a gorgeous experience and one I can see over and over again since I live so close to them.

It’s a piece of home away from home where I grew up. And it’s a great thing. Oh. I found some old pictures from when I visited Iguacu Foz. Check them out below.

Iguacu Foz
This was taken at the edge of one of the waterfalls, “Devil’s Throat”. The thundering sound of the water was immense. The mist from the falls also caused one to get immediately soaked within minutes! This ledge was pretty cool and one I’ll never forget.

Iguacu Foz
This was my High School boyfriend (now ex of course, but he was my first serious boyfriend) and I posing next to the falls. I look at this picture and think how long ago this was, almost twilight years when I was just a wee thing and naïve to what the world would present to me once I graduated from my senior year in a few months back then. Anyways, yes, it looks dangerous but in actuality we were never in danger. There were plenty of rocks near us, but they don’t show up in the picture. This is also the days before I colored my hair brown, haha. I definitely want to return back some day, it’s truly a spectacular place to walk around.


I love this picture that I took. These kids were my school friends ranging from grades 9-12th grade. Some of them came from Japan, Switzerland, USA and Brazil. My school was next to a German/Swiss school, so many of their students came with us on this 2 week trip. It was a lot of fun!

9 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: My happy place

    1. Haha! Me neither, but when you are 17 years old you feel unstoppable! I’m curious to know if they still do it. I would have added a photo of me sitting in the raft/boat, but my photos are in storage in NJ right now. At the time, it did not seem that scary because the waters appeared somewhat calm where we were, but once we headed out more towards the area where the water goes over the falls, I panicked slightly and wondered what possessed me to do that ride! I guess it was one of my many “Indian Jones” moment. Thanks for the comment! 🙂

      1. One of my many, many fascinating experiences. I was snorkeling in the Bahamas a few years ago and there was a lemon shark close by. Luckily the shark was probably just curious which was a good thing because there were many other snorkelers out there in the water. I was being followed by many yellow, blue and orange little fishes as I was snorkeling-it was the coolest thing-I would swim fast, they would follow, I’d turn quickly left, they’d turn left too, now that was the best feeling. I’ll never forget that experience! 🙂

    1. Really?! I want to return again and see it lit up. I’m sure it’s gorgeous! I also want to return to Helen Hunt Falls for the drive. I’m sure it’s beautiful too. As we were driving up to the Falls, I felt like I was on another planet, the beauty of the ride through the mountain was breath taking. It was just a small windy road along the tall rocks and trees all over all. It’s hard to describe, but it wasn’t like any other roads through the mountains in Colorado. It was different…. 🙂 I want to see it soon for the Fall colors.

      1. It was in the 90s when I saw it. Very pretty. I have not been to Helen Hunt Falls though. Will have to do that one. 🙂 Little harder now since we are on the opposite side of Kansas now. Before we were 4 1/2 hours from Denver. We don’t get out there as much. The Fall colors will be gorgeous I bet. We do have tons of trees out here and the colors are beautiful. They are just starting to turn. Things are still green.

    1. Like, like, like!!! So jealous! I would totally do that! I’d be more terrified about the guides standing at the edge without any safety harness than me going over the falls! Cool video, thanks for sharing Philip!

My Lords and Ladies, tell me thine thoughts if it pleases thee below...

