Amanda’s Journal: Getting great news

AmandasCamelotBlog2015

Dear Journal,

I’ve been riding a wave of euphoria since Sunday night at 8 PM. I can’t stop smiling, I am filled with happiness. I received news from a woman who knows my biological mom down in Brazil. She said my mom is doing well despite having had a stroke and is currently living with my older sister. She sent me a recent picture of my mother and as I stared at her lovely face, I was filled with love and pure joy. In the picture, my mom has the biggest smile and looks like she is about to break out in a huge laugh-it’s fantastic! She has more grey hair since I last saw her, but still retains that very youthful look. My mom (my adoptive mom who raised me) said out of all my sisters, I look the most like my biological mom. So, now that we have a middle woman between us, I can get her address and be more in contact with her. I had lost contact with her, so I wasn’t sure if she was still alive or not. I’m happy as a clam right now! Knowing she is alive and well makes me want to do the best in everything I do; I want her to be proud of me.

So that’s my great news!

As a way to show how news can affect how great news like this affects a blogger as myself, I thought it was the perfect time to change my blog name from JavaGirl’s Life to Amanda’s Camelot. I have my google alerts set for my own blog name and there are some other JavaGirl(s) with questionable intentions that I didn’t want to be associated with. I had wanted to change my blog name since last year anyways, I just didn’t know to what or when. Amanda is my middle name which I love very much. I chose using my middle name because I have a very unique first name and as far as I know I am the only one in the State of Colorado who has this name and one of 6 people in the entire USA who shares this name. So, for privacy reasons, I wanted to use my middle name. Camelot comes from the second definition of the word in the Webster dictionary: a time, place, or atmosphere of idyllic happiness. I like the name camelot because I have a romantic view of life. I love all things royal, castles, old world love and art. Colorado is my camelot. I love this place! I love the mountains, the wild flowers, the air and it truly represents where I live right now. It’s my camelot; where my dreams will come true whatever they may be. Everyday will not be perfect, but they will be better and easier.

Oh and I just got myself a new business partner or is it the other way around? We’re at the beginning phase, but things will move along fast because most of the research and bare bones of the website/store is already laid out.

AmandasCamelotBlog2015garden

AmandasCamelotBlog2015pic2

18 thoughts on “Amanda’s Journal: Getting great news

    1. You know, just reading your well wishes and kind words means the world to me. The past 2 years have been the loneliest years of my life as a daughter without my adoptive mother. I really miss her, but life must go on. She would’ve been thrilled that I’m in contact with my bio mother. It’s all good in the hood. πŸ™‚

    1. Awwwww!!!! ❀ You're a sweetheart! I love it too…for many reasons. I've never lived on my own in a different State far away from family before. It's new and scary, but I'm pretty adaptable. There is so much to explore here and every turn in Colorado just takes my breath away. I have to remind myself that I am not a tourist and that this lovely State is my home now. ❀ So, hence the name. Plus, you know, being a romantic at heart, Camelot instills a storybook life, I suppose. πŸ™‚

  1. That’s great to hear about your Mother. Plan to visit Brazil? I don’t have a middle name =[[ Stuck with the same, boring conventional first/last name.

    Nice new theme! Maybe it’s time for me to update mine as well. New business? Sounds exciting! Does it involve flowers? Photography? Spelunking?

    1. I’d love to visit Brazil in the next few years. You have one of my favorite names as your first. Thanks! It was time to change. There were other JavaGirls popping up on my Google alerts. One in particular who was advertising selling her body. When I kept seeing that, I no longer wanted that name. I don’t want to be associated with something like that, hence the new name. It seems safe enough! Lol

    2. Oh, I’d love to see your new theme! Any future blogs about TWD? They were so awesome! No flowers… no spelunking….yes photography… To sell merchandise. Just bought a backdrop studio kit. Loooooooove it!!!

      1. Very cool! I’ll await some new blog photos here (you always capture the right photos at the right time!). Yes, procrastination is a big kryptonite I should try harder to be free of. Maybe blogging again will help return me to the rhythm =]] Maybe I’ll blog after watching the new TWD: Fear the Living pilot debuting next week, I think, about how ________ (reserving judgment) the spin-off is, lol.
        I hope you can visit Brazil soon. Would be a blast!

      2. Dimples are my kryptonite. πŸ˜… Awwww, thanks! I’ve been slightly lazy taking photos, but come Fall time, I’ll be snapping away. Yes, you better blog again!! They were the funniest and most informative TWD episode write ups online!! Not sure about the pilot either, but it would be cool to see all the cameos of former cast members from TWD show up in this new show. I’ll give it a chance. Brazil will happen one day. Not sure when. Little obsessed about Lake Como, Italy, France and Croatia.

    1. Hi my friend! I didn’t see your message until now, very weird as I usually am notified of comments. I think my alert system for my blog is all screwed up. Yes, it’s great to know my birth mother. When I was adopted, it was an “open adoption” meaning I was still in touch with my biological mother as I grew up. I had both my mothers at my High School graduation, it was an amazing feeling to see the woman who gave birth to me and the other mother who raised me all my life both smiling at me as I gave a speech. Thank you for the compliment!

My Lords and Ladies, tell me thine thoughts if it pleases thee below...

