Sunday with my bestfriend….

BreckenridgeJuly2015OverLookingTheValleypic2

This past Sunday took my bestfriend and I to explore Breckenridge and Frisco (Colorado). The trip took two hours to get to Breckenridge from Colorado Springs, but on our way there, we ran into three storms. During one of those storm breaks, we stopped at a place where you could see miles and miles of land before you. I mean, it was one of those moments that takes your breath away. As far as the eye could see, you saw mountains and a big valley below. There was this skinny road that passed through the valley and I asked my bestfriend, “Is that the road we’ll be taking which leads straight into those big mountains?”. In my mind, I felt like I was heading into some Lord of the Rings journey.

BreckenridgeJuly2015OverLookingTheValley

The answer was yes. The ledge where we were standing was full of wild flowers and you know how crazy I get about wild flowers. If there is one thing on my bucket list that I really want to do is to lay in a huge field of wild flowers. I’ve never done that. Not just any field of wild flowers, but a mountain field of wild flowers. Well, here, there were wild flowers, but not enough.

BreckenridgeJuly2015SOUTHPARK

We passed through South Park. Yeah, that South Park in Colorado. I’ve never been here before and it was interesting to see what it was like. For starters, it seemed to be a town where time stood still. The town seemed quiet and unassuming. There seemed to be just one main road there as most mountain town have in Colorado.

BreckenridgeJuly2015THETOWN3

Once in Breckenridge, we stopped and had lunch. I had made a nice picnic and we munched on our sandwiches as we took in the beauty of the town. Most of the day was cloudy, so I’m sorry if the pictures seem dull. There weren’t many blue skies the day we went. It didn’t stop the towns from looking beautiful though. Breckenridge is a ski resort town, so you could see all the ski trails up in the mountains.

BreckenridgeJuly2015

We were surrounded by these flowers as we ate our lunch. So pretty…

BreckenridgeJuly2015BreckenridgeGongolasTWO

Gondolas! They looked so peaceful as they made their way up the mountain. Then this is what followed my thoughts.
Bestfriend: But do you see how high they go?
Me: No.
Me: They seem to go over a certain point and then you can’t see how high they go.
Me: (After much thought and self control of excitement) Will you please, please go on it with me?
Bestfriend: What? Are you kidding me? That looks scary! I’m not going on that thing, nuh uh!
Me: Aw, come on!
Bestfriend: No way. (Their face appeared determined to not go)
Me: Come on! We’ll have fun! I promise not to rock the gondola.
Bestfriend: Look how they sway! Is that normal? They are swaying too much! No way am I going on that!
Me: Uhhh. Maybe the people are rocking it on purpose. I highly doubt it would be the gondola itself.

BreckenridgeJuly2015THETOWN

A miracle happened that day. I was able to convince my bestfriend to come with me to find out how high it went from the ticket booth guy. Luckily, it was a free 12 minute ride and it only went to a certain point. That’s good. We could survive that. I was so proud of my bestfriend because they agreed to get on. I was beyond excited! It was a nice ride and I got some good shots. I video taped most of the ride, but the windows were scratched up, so I only used a few clips that didn’t show the scratches.

BreckenridgePhonePicsJuly2015JavaGirlsLifeBlog

We finally arrived in Frisco and checked out the marina. The first time I came here back in October, it was night and I wasn’t able to see all the mountains. Frisco Bay is a place where I want to come back and kayak, but today we were just exploring it.

BreckenridgeJuly2015FRISCOKAYACKS1

BreckenridgeJuly2015FRISCOSAILBOATSMARINA

Some may already know I love marinas! I love any form of water be it lakes, rivers, waterfalls, oceans or even small streams. I love being out in the water and feeling the wind in my face as I ride sailboats, boats or even kayaks. There is something so pure and natural to be so close to water. I just feel so at home by water. I’m working on getting my Safety Boating Certificate so I can legally operate a boat out in the lakes. Maybe one day I’ll get my own boat.

BreckenridgeJuly2015FRISCOSAILBOATSMARINApic2

BreckenridgePhonePicsJuly2015pic2

BreckenridgeJuly2015FRISCOSAILBOATSTILTSHIFT

I love using the tilt shift on my camera. It makes the boats look miniature.

BreckenridgeJuly2015FRISCOSAILBOATSMARINApic5

BreckenridgeJuly2015FRISCOSAILBOATSMARINApic6

This dog was so cute! His owners were throwing a stick for him to go after and he seemed so happy just to be running around.

Here is the video of our day. Unfortunately, my Windows Movie Maker was not working tonight, so I had to use YouTube for my editing. Hope you like the video! Until next time!

7 thoughts on “Sunday with my bestfriend….

      1. Adventure Boy sent that to me via text message while I was getting my hair did. He was sitting on a chair watching me in the salon and chatting up the hair stylist. He says his goal everyday is to make his mom laugh. I have the coolest 14 year old son-everrrr. 🙂

    1. Hahahaha! Omg, Philip, you crack me up! I don’t know the song “Rock the Boat” to begin with, so that would be scary on my part. It was just the two of us in the gondola. How about “Free Falling”? No, that would be mean. Hehe. Isn’t there a song called “Sway”? Just wondering……

My Lords and Ladies, tell me thine thoughts if it pleases thee below...

