My Saturday

WordPressJavaGirlsLifeBlog2015

Today we strolled through Old Colorado City because it was a festival of sorts and all the stores were showcasing their products on the sidewalk. I bought another cool Mayan calendar to hang on my wall, some homemade soaps (I’m really into natural/organic soaps made with goats milk and beautiful scents) and some local honey. I go through honey pretty quickly, so I was thrilled to get my honey bear! There are many days I just want to just change my blog name from JavaGirl to HoneyGirl, because it just fits me better. I also got to check out some Tibetan sculptures and artifacts as I’ve always been a fan of Tibetan art. I want my living room to have some international flair to it; a bohemian eclectic feel to it if you will. I also noticed a few hookah stores too walking down the blocks. No, I don’t smoke, I like to keep my lungs pure of smoke and because I have allergies to smoke.

With camera in hand, I’m constantly looking at my surroundings and enjoying the atmosphere, waiting to see if anything captures my attention. Something did. This. I stepped aside and snapped a few pictures of this cute window with fake flowers. As I was taking this picture, two elderly ladies stopped and said, “Oh! Well, isn’t that so pretty! We would’ve never seen that up there if you hadn’t been standing there taking that picture!” I smiled and told them I just found it pretty cute. Nothing earthshattering in explanation.

WordPressJavaGirlsLifeBlog2015pic2

People in Colorado Springs are so friendly. I had several people come up to me just making conversation, it was nice. I’m feeling more and more comfortable adapting to my new home. Living by the mountains is so new to me. I’ve lived most of my life in a tropical paradise with swaying palm trees, ocean and constant sunshine and to move to a place where it’s mountains and forests, it’s just new, but a good “new”. I’m also still telling myself not to rush to do lots of things all at once because I live here, I’m not just visiting anymore. There is so much to do and see, it will take a long time to see all.

WordPressJavaGirlsLifeBlog2015pic4

I’ve been to this little spot a few times, but I never get tired of it. This is just a small picnic area in Garden of the Gods. However, I had never gone beyond a certain point to see the whole “rock”. Seeing that the sun was quickly setting and I’d have little time to get the photo I wanted, I raced down the hiking trail to the area where perhaps I could get a better view. Everywhere we looked, we saw people hiking up and down the trails of the rocks and taking pictures. Garden of the Gods truly was busy with activity and tourists today! There were a few girls hanging around the smaller rocks and they were friendly and chatted to me for a bit. Even a cute toddler came up to me and said, “Hi!” as she waved her chubby hands up at me. I love children so I talked a bit to the toddler. With camera in hand and racing against time, I turned the corner and exclaimed, “Whoa! It’s so beautiful!”. There are times when you are just so captured by something that you can’t immediately snap a picture. You want to step back and allow your mind to mentally capture it first. The rock (of many there) reminded me of the one in Australia for some reason. The way the sun was setting giving out warm tones was just spectacular.

I’ve been through a heck of a lot in the past 17 months, I’ve found Colorado to be my sanctuary. Colorado has been good to me and I need it.

WordPressJavaGirlsLifeBlog2015pic6

I love living here. It was a good day.

4 thoughts on “My Saturday

  1. Great writing Girl, very open. That rocky outcrop does resemble Uluru, a magical place that can only be understood by experiencing a sunset and a sunrise there. You have to drive there too, as the monolith can be seen from a great distance standing out of a virtually flat desert landscape. Flying into the resort would miss that build up.

    1. Lol@ “Girl” Thanks for keeping my real name a mystery. Garden of the Gods is such a cool place to go to. It’s nestled in the foothills of a mountain, so you are able to look down at Colorado Springs. You also see wildlife up there too. Would love to go to Australia someday and see Uluru.

  2. Beautiful shot of the rock and the window flowers were cute too. Colorado’s wonderful, I lived in Breckenridge many years ago b.c. (before condos). Seemed like everyone was into something and from somewhere else. Loved the mountains. Enjoy! 🙂

My Lords and Ladies, tell me thine thoughts if it pleases thee below...

