Vacation: Bermuda July 2014

WPBlogBermudaPic1JavaGirlsLife

We arrived in beautiful Bermuda early in the morning. I had woken up at around 7 am because I was so excited to see this gorgeous country. When I saw we were approaching the island, my heart started racing and I couldn’t believe this was happening. It was a dream coming true for me! Anyways, after we all walked off the ship, we weren’t sure where to go. There was a bit of confusion because there were no signs for our excursion so we almost ended up going on a public bus to the beach. Eventually we found our group, after most of them were already packed like sardines in the vans. I was lucky enough to sit up front and take some pictures and videos. The pictures were taken through a window, so they aren’t the clearest. The excursion we bought had a van personally pick us up and take us directly to the beach, Horseshoe Bay. The ones who took the public bus from the ship were dropped off on top of a hill and had to walk down to the beach.

WPBermudaJavaGirlsLifePic2

Just one of the many marinas we passed. They were all over the place, obviously, yet each one was different. If you know me by now, you would know that I love marinas. They are extremely picturesque!

WPBermudaJavaGirlsLifePic3

Love the different colors on the hills of houses by the water. So pretty.

WPBermudaJavaGirlsLifePic4

Our driver told us that in Bermuda people are allowed to paint their homes any color they want. We saw every color in the rainbow except brown and black. He even said that they can judge a person just by how clean and white their rooftops are. For example, if a house has a dirty rooftop where it does not shine or gleam of white, then people are pretty sure inside the house is unkempt and therefore would not want to eat in their home. They are by law supposed to scrub clean and paint their roofs every two years with a certain white paint. They rely on rainwater for their drinks and often get it from their roofs, hence the outer appearance of a roof on a house. I did not know that and found that very interesting. It is hard to grow vegetables to buy in a big store, so most people grow their own vegetables. Much of the food in Bermuda is imported which explains why eating out can be quite expensive!

WPBermudaJavaGirlsLifePic5

Yes, the water was perfect and so warm! I hung around this area for about 15 minutes just allowing the current to move me gently. Laying on my back having the sun drench me in its rays and feeling like I was on top of the world was one of the best feelings I have had in a very long time. This was exactly what I wanted to do once I came here. I didn’t think about work or any stresses of life. It was perfect-until a kid splashed me and got salt water into my nose making me suddenly jolt up from my dreamy state of mind. But with a smile because I was in paradise after all.

WPBermudaJavaGirlsLifePic6

Horseshoe Bay is a very popular beach! It’s a public beach so it was fun to hear and interact with the locals. Except maybe one person who was swimming around. She creeped me out for some reason. She just stared at me and was talking a language I didn’t know. Her eyes were not exactly friendly as she moved closer and closer to where I was. I didn’t know if she was talking to herself or something else. I quickly swam away from her clutches and proceeded to explore other non-creepy things. From this view, you can tell I am getting farther and farther away from the masses and venturing out on my own to explore what was around the corner. Beyond the rocks was the bigger beach that several hundred people went to. I love small, intimate beaches so that’s why we came to Horseshoe Bay.

WPBermudaJavaGirlsLifePic7

So I swam around a corner to explore and came across this! The water was somewhat shallow, but the current was still powerful enough to knock you off your feet. The one thing we had to endure and be careful of were the rocks under the water. Some rocks were smooth and others were razor sharp. I still have scratches at the bottom of my feet, but nothing deep or alarming. The water was a light emerald color because it was in shallow waters. I couldn’t believe all the shades of blue Bermuda has in its waters! So pretty! I felt like I stumbled across a blue lagoon scene when we swam around here. People noticed and then more and more people started to swim over to where we were. People on the beach who only stayed by the beach and didn’t venture out beyond the rocks would have never seen this area. There are always benefits to exploring around a bit. I’m an explorer by nature anyways, so this was nothing new.

WPBermudaJavaGirlsLifePic8

The water. The water!WPBermudaJavaGirlsLifePic9

From this vantage point you can see a cliff edge straight ahead. It was there that I decided to stand and take some picture. From that stand point, you can see below to where I am at from above.

WPBermudaJavaGirlsLifePic11

I chose a small area away from most of the crowd and put our things down there while we swam around. Once I was pulled out of the water (because if I had my way, I’d want to stay in the water forever and call it a day), we noticed a little opening to a tunnel that lead somewhere. Adventure Boy suggested we go check it out. We entered it and saw this big opening to the sky and a 60 degree angle to the top. We had seen two kids come out from the tunnel, so they must have climbed down from the top. Adventure Boy started to climb up, but decided not to last minute. I looked up and saw what looked like a slide from the top! On the cruise, they offered rock climbing. Pff. Honey please. I was going rocking climbing for real! With two cameras in hand, I began my climb up. It was hard and very slippery. It was truly rock climbing; good thing I used to be a gymnast because I felt like bending and stretching all kind of ways.

WPBermudaJavaGirlsLifePic12

Whew! Almost halfway there! The things I do for my lovely subscribers! πŸ˜‰ No, seriously. My curiosity was getting the best of me. Other people had climbed other rocks/cliffs on the other side which you will see in the video below, but I was the only one up on this one (just the way I like it). It was worth the climb though because this is the shot I got! This picture reminded me of my dream from a few posts ago that I wrote about. Remember? I was standing on a cliff looking below? It was nothing like where I was standing, but it reminded me of my dream.

WPBermudaJavaGirlsLifePic10

This picture looks like a huge hand with its hand cupped. Can you see the fingers? Hand of God? His present to me! See the beauty I have created before you!Β If you look closely, you will see a little platform at one of the “fingertips” where I sat and looked below. I wish someone had been behind me to take a picture of me sitting at that little platform.

You had to be here to feel the weather, the sun, the beauty and the moment of having a scene take your breath away. I sat here for a little while without filming or taking pictures-it was quite lovely and a moment that only my mind will always remember.

WPBermudaJavaGirlsLifePic15

Earlier I had mentioned that cliff. Here I am at that cliff looking down at the emerald small swimming area where I was.

WPBermudaJavaGirlsLifePic14

Overall, I felt relaxed, at peace, warm and saturated by the ocean that I love so much. I’ve been to many beaches in my life and the temperature of the water was unlike I had ever felt. The sun, the beach and everything that goes with it is what I am. It reflects my soul and spirit.

Here is a short video of my pictures. If you go to my vimeo page, you can click play then push “stop” until you see the buffer bar completely go to the right. Then press “play” to get a non buffered play of the video.

I was sitting up front and the passengers in the back were asking the driver some questions. I asked questions, but they were not on film. We actually had a wonderful conversation on the way to the beach talking about Brazil, soccer and Bermuda. Our driver was so sweet and informative. He told me a lot of Brazilians live in Bermuda and I saw many houses with Brazilian flags outside! Viva Brasil!

I’ll be back with more pictures of St. Maarten. It takes a while to upload and edit the videos. I took lots of pictures and lots of hours of videos of the four countries we went to, but I had to condensed it for my blog.

I highly recommend visiting Bermuda!! I am already thinking of when I will return and staying much longer. This is a place you want to bring someone very special toΒ or a family trip to remember.

If islands could serenade me with a song, I’d want Bermuda to sing this song to me.

 

“I will Possess Your Heart” by Death Cab for Cutie

How I wish you could see the potential
The potential of you and me
It’s like a book elegantly bound
But in a language that you can’t read just yet

You gotta spend some time, love
You gotta spend some time with me
And I know that you’ll find love
I will possess your heart

There are days when outside your window
I see my reflection as I slowly pass
And I long for this mirrored perspective
When we’ll be lovers, lovers at last

You gotta spend some time, love
You gotta spend some time with me
And I know that you’ll find love
I will possess your heart

21 thoughts on “Vacation: Bermuda July 2014

    1. Thank you Happy lifeaholic! I highly recommend Bermuda. It’s more gorgeous in person than any professional picture will ever show you. The weather is perfect and the color of the water is simply amazing. Thanks for your comment! I’m already wondering when I can return back to that island.

  1. garylee828

    Why were you talking about Brazillian soccer? You should have been talking about German soccer! Or were you talking about how bad Germany beat Brazil? Oh, that makes sense!! πŸ™‚

  2. Those white roofs are very nice. Imagine skydiving and seeing colorful houses below! Saw the vid in email and thought the waters, beautiful as they are, must be cold until you said they were warm. Must be nice–cliffs, variety of blue shades, and the coziness. Those residents are lucky.

    People who took the public bus had to walk down a hill? I can see you giggling and saying ‘suckers’, lol.

    1. That’s one of the reasons why I wanted to see Bermuda, the houses! They are just as vivid in real life as they are portrayed in pictures. So many different colors! The water felt like to be about 80 degrees? It was perfect and amazing. If there is any place in my top 4 places on earth close to what paradise is, Bermuda is one of them. πŸ™‚ That was just one beach we saw. It was very crowded and I despise crowded beaches, so we went to that place. I love lonely beaches. They paid less for the bus ride, but they had to then walk up the hill to get into the bus. Our tickets cost more, but we were delivered straight to the beach. Unfortunately, we were stuck in the van with some stuck up and annoying people. One of them was extremely drunk and acting crazy in the van. I wanted to face palm half of the time of what she was saying-haha. They were the typical tourist. I was so embarrassed by their behavior I almost apologized to our van driver. I wanted to say to him that not all Americans act that way.

    1. Are the animals nice there? Hehe. I heard crocodiles can climb trees! Heard that from Uberfacts on Twitter. Is that true or was I duped? Secluded places are the best! πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you! πŸ™‚ I felt it wasn’t long enough. Bermuda is very healing to my soul and I cherished the limited time I had there. However, I feel it calling me back again and I’m thinking maybe spending Christmas over there. My son feels fine with that too. We’ll see. πŸ™‚ Bermuda, truly is one of the most beautiful places I have ever set foot in (besides Brazil, of course). As for climbing, I’ve been climbing all my life. I actually love doing it. As a kid, I was always up in the trees with my friends. Gotta love those mango trees!

  3. Such a beautiful place πŸ™‚ But disappointed with the video 😦 It was small one πŸ˜› Not everyone can visit this place…..so please next time start uploading more videos πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you. Sorry. I’m having problems with Vimeo. It’s taking me hours just to upload a 3 minute video. I could use more footage, but for some reason I’m having problems uploading videos with more minutes. If you want to see longer videos of Bermuda, go to YouTube. You’ll find beautiful and professional videos of Bermuda. πŸ™‚ I go there a lot.

      1. I’ve added Lake Como, Italy and Croatia to my bucket list. Fiji is also on my list to see someday. Bermuda is very healing. I can’t explain it. I have to return back again, because I didn’t think I spent long enough there. Thank GOD Bermuda is only 2 hours away from Philly by plane. I can just jump on a plane and head over there anytime I want actually. Hehe. I would be broke because I’d be wanting to go there every weekend! I must learn patience. Already planning my summer vacation. I’d like to go to Europe this coming summer, but we’ll see. πŸ˜€ I can’t decide whether I want to cruise to Bermuda (and only Bermuda this time) or to fly there and stay at this particular place I found online. For Croatia, I’m doing tons of research online, comparing flights, watching videos and being meticulous about details. It’s a long time from when I will go, but I am a thorough person.

    1. Yes, it was what I needed, but it felt too short (even though it was a 9 day cruise). I would have gladly turned my car around and gotten on the next cruise which was leaving for a 5 day Bermuda cruise. Sigh. Bermuda is magical. There is something about it that a lot of people feel once they go there. I would tell anyone who has suffered loss, stressed out or searching for something in life, to go there. It’s truly a life changing place. A healing place. I felt close to my mom because the waters were so perfect, I thought it blended straight into heaven from where I was at. Thank God it’s only a 2 hour fight from Philly!!! πŸ™‚

  4. What a lovely post! I didn’t know much about Bermuda so you’ve enlightened me:)
    I just lve it when you arrive somewhere new where you haven’t been before, however, have dreamed of. I can tell by your way of writing that you truly enjoyed your stay. And what lovely, sad song lyrics.

My Lords and Ladies, tell me thine thoughts if it pleases thee below...

