Grounds for Sculpture: Part 3

groundsforsculptureKissingCouple

A sculpture from a famous photograph.

groundsforsculpturePondwithFish

That awesome moment when one of your photographs looks like a painting. This picture has inspired me to pick up my paint brushes and gather my oils to paint once again. We stared at this fish for a while from the Monet bridge we were standing on. They have duplicated the famous Monet Bridge painting in real life, so that line you see in the pond is from the bridge. Anyways, so this crazy fish was head butting the plants in front of it. You’ll see it in my video.

groundsforsculptureSecretGarden

We took a breather in this secret garden to enjoy nature and listen to the sounds around us. You’ll also see the right chair in my video. It was such a breezy day and the trees around us were in full dance mode.

groundsforsculptureTULIP

Stalking tulips is a fun thing to do. They are, afterall, my favorite flower.

groundsforsculptureVikingcloseup

Oh look! I went to Asgard and lived to tell about it. Very Thor-ish.

GroundsForsculptureVikings

Another view of the Vikings.

groundsforsculptureCOOLsculpture

Plants surrounding this sculpture really made it pop out.

groundsforsculpturestackedstones

A famous landmark. Everybody takes this picture.

groundsforsculpturegardenPeacock

They have 12 peacocks running around the 42 acre property. I couldn’t make it spread its feathers, but it did allow me to come up to its face to take a picture. We weren’t sure how to call them to come to us, but Adventure Boy did say to me, “Mom. That lady next to us is calling the peacock like a cat and clicking her tongue!!” It took all my acting skills to keep from laughing my head off. How do you call a peacock?

29 thoughts on “Grounds for Sculpture: Part 3

  1. Wow, You are a gifted photographer. I only hope your paintings instill the same passion and emotion. I imagine they will be even more powerful and expressive due to the personal touch of the heart of the artist. I hope you will share some of your paintings with us as well.

    1. I am honored you think I am a gifted photographer. It is a passion of mine (like oil painting). I’m glad I’m back to shooting pictures because it’s such a huge part of my life. Yes, painting instills the same amount of passion as my photographs (albeit I don’t have as much time to do it). My paintings are mostly of landscapes or abstract (think Picasso). I’ve never shown any of my painting on WordPress, so it will be a new thing for me and I would be lying if I said I was slightly shy about showing it. ๐Ÿ˜› Oil painting is a form of meditating and reflecting. It’s very time consuming and tedious, but it’s relaxing. Relaxing is something rare these days for me. Especially this month. This is the longest comment ever. ๐Ÿ˜›

      1. LOL. It is good to get to know you a little better tho so long comment be damned. It is always good to have creative outlets and personal meditative pursuits. Mine is Bicycling. If you ever do decide to show some of your oil paintings I would love to see them. Be well and keep inspiring.

    1. Thank you so much Mikeyb! Thank means a lot to me. ๐Ÿ˜€ Btw. I love your camera that you use for filming. Hey, if you’re ever in NJ, come and check out that place.

    1. Thank you. ๐Ÿ˜€ I figured my subscribers would like this placed too. It’s a fantasy land and I can’t stop thinking about it. I’m looking forward to going back and checking out the last part of the grounds which we forgot to see. I’ll be taking my camera, of course.

    1. Thank you my friend! I’m happy you stopped by! ๐Ÿ˜€ I love shooting pictures. It relaxes me and I’m happy when I do it. Hope you are fairing well over there.

  2. “The Kiss,” which is the name of the sculpture in your first picture, was here in San Diego for many years before the owners called it home for repairs before being sent to Grounds for Sculpture. Nice to see it again, although we have a replacement sculpture that is made out of bronze instead of Styrofoam.

    1. Thanks! It’s always great to hear informative and interesting things about the sculptures! I noticed they do at GFS move their sculptures around. You’ll see “The Kiss” on a video I’m working on from my day at GFS. Hope you can watch it. ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. I did read your post and thought it was very informative and interesting! So cool to see the same sculpture from another blogger from all the way across the US! How cool is that? Great write up Russel! Pet Zoey the Cool Cat for me, will ya?

      2. Actually, I just noticed that I have things backwards. The name of Johnson’s sculpture is “Unconditional Surrender” and the name of our replacement here is “The Kiss.” Sorry about that!

My Lords and Ladies, tell me thine thoughts if it pleases thee below...

