JavaGirl’s Life in the comics: Week 5

bistripHAPPY

Hi, my name is Amanda and welcome to my weekly life in comics. Yes, this is truly how happy I was Sunday!

bitstripgoseahawks

So yesterday there was this game called the Super bowl that happens every year. Guess which team I was rooting for? Take a wild guess.

bitstripgametime

bitstripnomnom

Earlier in the day, we went food shopping and got some munchies to snack on. I think I had plenty to satisfy my hunger. Even made a fort with it. Got to be creative these days.

bistripfootballtouchdown

I would imagine what it would be like to be a quarterback out in the field.

bitstriptouchdown

Then reality set in. Ooops. But the Seahawks won with a crazy score of 43-8!!!!!!!

bistripdoctor

Nothing else new. Adventure Boy went to his two doctors and everything looked fine.

bistripshadow

Guess we have six more weeks of c-c-c-c-hilly weather.

bitstriplake

Had my usual dose of Cadbury chocolates this week. My favorite. Oh, if my wild and imaginative mind would come to life, I’d be swimming in a lake of chocolate.

bitstripchicken

(Look at my eyes in this strip. I look so devious and cunning. Hehe.) Made Adventure Boy my French inspired chicken that he loves. My secret is White Wine for Cooking (not the actual bottle of white wine, albeit it would taste fancier), tons of herbs like sage, dill, thyme, butter, salt, pepper, onions and garlic salt. I add my own ingredients and he loves it. I serve it with homemade mashed potatoes and veggies. I was inspired by my friend, Joseph, who wrote a blog dedicated to his friend of how to roast a chicken. The recipe looked so amazing I had to try it out. Click the link below and it will take you to his blog.

CubanAmericanInParis

I also make Adventure Boy French Hot Chocolate, which he also loves! It’s a complex process to make, but it’s so worth it.

Did I mention that the Seahawks won the Super bowl? Ok. Just making sure!

bistriptv

So, in other news. Looking forward to some cool shows coming up this week. The Winter Olympics will be starting too! I will be watching and rooting for the Jamaican Bobsled Team! I like the ice skating and ski competitions. Oh and the speed skating. That’s always fun to watch!

bitstriphappyweek

Some of you may wonder why I stopped writing my weekly journal, it’s because (for those who are new subscribers) my mom passed away on Thanksgiving day and my emotions are still fragile. It’s been extremely hard, so when I’m feeling better and have more things to write, I’ll do it again. But for now, I am doing my comic bitstrips because they are silly and fun. Feel free to ask me anything though! You can always contact me privately on my contact email address on the right hand side of my blog and I’ll respond back to you. If you are from Nigeria and are trying to scam me with your stupid “You inherited gazillion dollars”, your email will be forwarded to the FBI scam department. Just a warning! Anyone else normal and being a sweetheart, I’d love to hear from you.

Much love,

Amanda

45 thoughts on “JavaGirl’s Life in the comics: Week 5

    1. Aw, thank you Amanda! You are so kind and sweet to say that. Right now, Bitstrip only allows you to upload by logging in through Facebook. They said eventually you can log in without having to use FB. I follow them on Twitter so I can read their updates. Lol. Hope you have a fun and great week!

    1. I already did! Remember? It was a few weeks ago or whenever you posted that blog (I texted you). Instead of a whole chicken, I used only thighs. It still came out delicious! The White Wine really is what makes the chicken taste the way it does. Restaurant quality! πŸ™‚

  1. Not a single time mention of word “football”. Was that a conscious effort from a Girl from Brazil where the sport is played a round shaped ball (ball by definition is supposed to be round/spherical anyways) and players actually use foot to pass ball around & hence the name!! πŸ™‚

    1. I read your comment and laughed out loud! It sure was funny and something I didn’t realize when I wrote my blog. Very perceptive my friend! I guess I automatically assumed people knew what I was talking about, hence the lack of the word “football”. In Portuguese we say “futebol” pronounced “foo-chee-bawl”, but in English we just say soccer. Which is weird because “foot” in Portuguese is “pe”. Lol. Language. SO STRANGE these days. Thanks for the comment and giggle! πŸ˜€

    1. Love. Your. Sarcasm. πŸ˜› I don’t know. Rumor has it that they won. I could be wrong you know. But I guess you’ll get your answer BY THE HUGE PARADE you guys are throwing for some team named the Seahawks. πŸ˜›

      1. Of course I saw him in that commercial. British actors have some of the most velvet sounding voices on this planet. Their accent accentuates the vowels and tones of what they are saying, so it means more in that aspect to the viewer or listener. Can you imagine an Australian trying to sound like a villain? It wouldn’t work! Australians are always seen as friendly and happy, so their accent wouldn’t really cut it. If you found a villain with an Australian accent, you’ll bust my little bubble of Australians being villains! πŸ˜‰ I just feel sorry for those actors where they play the villains so well that they are actually hated in real life by fans who confuse reality with fiction. Those fans clearly have mental health issues and need help if they can’t distinguish between acting and not acting. Meh. Let me get off my little soapbox. πŸ˜›

  2. ahardrain

    I love your silly and fun comic series especially those awesome sneakers. I have no idea why a Joisey gurl would root for the Seahawks. I should talk I am a New Yorker who is a Cheesehead guess we like who we like. Keep your chin up and keep thinking of good things. I know from experience the saying time heals is somewhat true. I guess time just takes the sharp sting out of the hurt but the hurt will always be there. The best thing to look forward to is that all the good memories start taking the place of the hurting heart.

    1. Thank you my lovely friend!!! I like my sneakers too! Looking for real life ones to match my cartoon version. LOL. Any suggestions? I know. I’m very weird. Rooting for those Sea birds-gasp! No, I was rooting for them because I know a bunch of people who are from Washington, so it was my little way of supporting them. Someone told me a few weeks ago, “You can get through it, but you can never get OVER it.”. That statement rings so true in grief. I now understand how completely different worlds people are from each other when their own mother is still alive. Those people don’t show compassion at all or understand the immense sadness one feels from losing a mother. Those who still have their mothers yet reach out to me and show compassion are truly amazing people. I’m learning a lot about human behavior and compassion these past few months. I will talk more about it once I start my JavaGirl’s Journal once again. I’m not writing my journals due to sorting out my emotions as I like to keep my blogs positive for my readers. Thanks for your amazing comment. You give me hope in that people (still) care. πŸ™‚

  3. jackdeth72

    Hi, Java Girl:

    There was a football game Sunday night?

    Who knew?

    I was too enthralled with the third episode of the third season of ‘Sherlock’.

    I like the idea of a “snack fort”. Sturdy sandwiches for the foundation. Buffalo Wing further up. Chips, dips and salsa up top.

    Alas, we have no “chocolate milk lakes” here on the east coast. Though, with your chilling temps. Shouldn’t it be “chocolate milk shake lakes”?

    1. Hey Jack!
      You know, I really enjoyed your comment! You wrote as if we have known each other for many years. I like that! Yes, I believe there were several eyeballs glued to this thing called tv. The stadium was in my State, after all! πŸ˜› I’ve never seen the show “Sherlock”. Is it good? I think the sturdiness would come from a certain type of bread. French bread perhaps? I would be afraid the buffalo wings would fall and mess up my hair and I’d be running around with barbeque smelling hair. Chips, in front of me…yeah. Now we’re talking! Brrrrr! Just the thought of a chocolate milk shake lake makes me shiver! Also reminds me of a Polar Bear dip! Ha! Thanks for your comment! Hope your return again!

      1. Hi, Java:

        ‘Sherlock’ is a superb contemporary adaptation of Arthur Conan Doyle’s novels and short stories. The writing is quick, clever and often funny. Definitely worth looking for on PBS’s ‘Masterpiece Mysteries’.

        French or crusty Italian bread for the foundation. Something worthy of bearing weight. Do not underestimate the power of Buffalo Wing sauce or Bacon as a perfume or hair preparation. Guys love those scents!

      2. I believe they just came out with a pizza perfume for the girls. I think I would be afraid to wear that one in fear I would be hunted down by hungry guys! You’ve sold me with your description of Sherlock. I will definitely check it out. I may have to start at the very beginning, yes? Or can I just watch any episode in any order? Buffalo is SPICY!! I would try the Bacon perfume though. Hehe! Watch out! πŸ˜›

      3. Hi, Java:

        Give Netflix or DVDs for ‘Sherlock’. Which should be watched from the start. Season one introduces all the characters and Moriarty. The second season involves Moriarty destroying Sherlock’s credibility and ends with a cliff hanger, possible death and disappearance of Sherlock for two years.

        Season three begins with John Watson engaged and the following travails of Mr. Holmes performing best man duties. All while solving homicides and butting heads with older brother, Mycroft. Who is the upper tier of MI-5 or 6.

        Amazon or Oldies.com are also viable choices for DVDs.

        Bacon perfume would be a good place to start with pizza a nioce second step before going Spicy!

      4. Haha! You know how some girls are rabid shoppers of shoes and handbags? I’m a perfume girl. I have expensive taste though because I love smelling good. Calvin Klein “Eternity” is my favorite and the one I get the most compliments from people. I don’t wear it for compliments, but I wear it because it makes me feel great and like I can conquer the world by its sexy fragrance. Lol. Ok. You’ve sold me on the whole Sherlock tv show. I think Netflix has the first season, but if not, I’ll definitely catch it on Amazon. I’m very excited to start watching it! Thank you so much for convincing me to watch this show. Hey. What about roast beef perfume? Would guys like that too?!!!!

      5. Roast beef is good. A pot roast with potatoes, carrots, baby onions and a rich gravy from stock and marrow would stimulate many glands.

        I understand that women go through many scents before settling on a specific, personal signature. And your choice of ‘Eternity’ pleases you and raises your spirits and suits you well.

        Even when you spike the football near the Chocolate Milk Lake.

  4. Wonderful reading, Amanda… πŸ˜‰ Your talent is amazing….!

    We heard all about the ‘Super-bowl’ here in Australia, and the incredible score. You must have had a great time with your Adventure man and all those munchies.

    I’m so sorry to hear about your Mother’s passing; a great loss, to be sure.. She must be so proud to have such a lovely daughter.

    1. Lol at “Adventure Man”. πŸ˜€ Yeah, using Bitstrips is a lot of fun; I enjoy making fun of myself via cartoons. Munchies are fun and so delicious! Thank you about my mom. It’s comments from across the world and from sweet friends like yourself that warms my heart. It’s been incredibly, incredibly difficult, but I’m handling it well. I knew this first year would be hard where everything (holidays and events) wouldn’t be shared with her. Luckily, my cousin has been so supportive, loving and taken me under her wing. She lost her mom 12 years ago (when my son was born), so she totally understands what I am going through. I am blessed to have her as a cousin! My mom raised me well, being a single mom and all. I never got into drugs, alcohol, smoking, drinking or had any run ins with the law. Then again, she was a bit strict. Lol! πŸ˜›

      1. My daughter used to say that too… “You are so strict, mum…” πŸ˜‰
        And yet, today she is one really great person, like yourself, with 3 boys of her own and a great attitude.
        You are in my thoughts… kisshugkisshugkisshug

My Lords and Ladies, tell me thine thoughts if it pleases thee below...

