Weekly Photo Challenge: The Hue of You

WPphotochallenge2013

I took this picture of the waters down at the Bahamas. We were at the Blue Lagoon island where we were going to interact with a dolphin. To this day, I am amazed by the blue waters of the Bahamas. Blue is my favorite color, but aquamarine is my favorite to be specific. Nevertheless, shades of blue always captures my attention and imagination.

Water has always been part of my life. When I was younger and I’d be swimming in our pool in Brazil surrounded by palm trees, my mom would say I spent a majority of my time underneath the water. My real name sounds similar to what a mermaid is called in Portuguese. When I’d say my name to Brazilians, they’d say, “Oh, like the word ‘mermaid’!!” My middle name should have been Ariel. Why do you think I became a lifeguard many, many years ago for the summers? To save people and be near water.

Dear Bahamas,

I will return back to you. I miss you too much!

Love always,

JavaGirl xoxoxo

14 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: The Hue of You

    1. I would LOVE to go to Hawaii! I hear Maui is stunning!! We have some places in Southern Brazil where it looks just like Hawaii….the mountains and beaches. The train ride through the mountain is one of the most beautiful and haunting memories of my Senior Trip. When we were in the train high up in the jungle-ish mountains, the fog was below us and we saw waterfall after waterfall surrounded by cascading pink and red flowers from the cliffs. I was thinking, “This is still Brazil?” Yes, Hawaii is on my list of places to go!

      1. I’ve been twice and it exactly as they say. Relaxing, beautiful weather, nice breeze all the time, enough to do if you want adventure, or lots of pools if you are lazy like me.

      2. I’ll probably break out in song and spin around like in the Sound of Music! Juuust kidding. Hiking to see waterfalls, walking on the beach and taking in the culture is what I would do. My cousin’s husband is a well known contractor here in the USA and he’s now in Maui for several months building something. He was in China building a mall after he finished building the new football stadium in North Jersey. Would be a good excuse to see my cousin and him in Hawaii! I am already plotting!

    1. Water is indeed beautiful, calming, yes. I remember being on the cruise to the Bahamas and looking down at the deep blue ocean and thinking how powerful and unforgiving it can be. We are so tiny compared to the depth and width of the ocean, it’s scary. I used to be a lifeguard for the summers. Many years ago. 🙂

    1. Hehe, I *used* to be a lifeguard. Back in the day. It was nice. But I’m still always on high alert anytime I’m in a pool. Of course, I’ll let the lifeguards on duty do their job, but if someone is in trouble and I’m closer, I’ll do whatever I have to do to help them. You know the show “Baywatch”? Craziest show ever. 😛

My Lords and Ladies, tell me thine thoughts if it pleases thee below...

