At the beach

JAVAGIRLSLIFEBLOGWPpic2

It was a lovely day for a stroll on the beach and to sit on the rocky pier as seagulls hovered above me. Such is a day in Southern New Jersey where I go to relax and rejuvenate my mind and soul. The beach does wonders to the mind-doesn’t it? Here I am in Avalon.

JavaGirlsLifeBlogpic1

We later went to Sea Isle City and walked around the beach. By this time, it was almost 8 PM and the sun was setting on the other side. The lifeguard stand was luring me quietly and I had to sit up on it, I am a former lifeguard afterall. Little did I know that there was a group waiting for me to jump off so they could take a picture on it. I wasn’t the only one on the beach taking pictures at this time, which was a little surprising since light was quickly fading. One side of the beach was quiet and serene with only the ocean beckoning with her waves to come closer. The other side of the sand was a loud bar with drunk 20 something year olds singing loudly and having a good time. Nevertheless, I shall return. Just not this particular beach. I like my isolated beaches.

Here’s a quick video. πŸ™‚

36 thoughts on “At the beach

    1. To answer your question, I had to look at my phone call log. I had gotten a phone call when I was on the beach, so yes, the time was after 8:12 PM to be exact. πŸ™‚

      1. Are you implying I didn’t take this picture? I take every single picture that I post on here, unless I otherwise note and give proper credit to the photographer. The sun sets later during the summer. Back on June 21st, the longest day of the year, the sun was still up around 9PM. As it gets closer to Fall, the sun starts going setting earlier. πŸ™‚

      2. No I am not saying that the Picture is not taken by You..What I am saying is that it really does not look like 8 PM…Here Back in India by the Time it is 8,it becomes almost Dark(longest day considered)…That’s what I meant to say.. πŸ™‚
        And I guess you took it in wrong way.. πŸ™‚

    1. Isolated beaches are awesome! There is something about just being one (or two) on a massive beach. It is then you realize how small you are in life and you can almost feel as if you are the only person on earth. LOL It’s a pretty cool feeling.

      1. Where is that? I want to check out this little island off of one of the Carolinas. It seemed like a pretty cool, isolated and private island to go to someday….very soon. Maybe next year. Who knows! πŸ˜›

      2. Problem is that most beaches worth anything have millions of others around. That is why I like Hawaii. There are always multiple beaches that aren’t crowded.

      3. I think there is an isolated island somewhere in North Carolina or South Carolina where you can only access it via a ferry. Once there, most people ride their bikes around the island. The island has several deserted beaches. I’ll have to research it because I wanted to check it out someday for a mini vacation.

      4. I’m guessing there is a beach somewhere in Alaska or Russia where nobody would want to hang out, especially in the winter right? Maybe that would be a good destination for a bitter guy that wanted to be left alone.

    1. Hi Michelle! The weather was cool and it was getting dark fast! I saw several couples kissing and taking walks on the beach. It’s been years since I took a long walk on the beach! πŸ˜€ Sitting on the rocks watching the waves was the highlight of my day. It was peaceful and brought memories of summer vacations down in Brazil.

  1. These photos are really… really good.

    Now, the boat picture is really something. This picture shows us that you are very talented. (goes back to look again)

    Yes, you have a gift.

    1. Thanks soooo much! You made my day! πŸ˜€ I admire your photography so much, so any compliments about my photography is such an honor-my friend! I used Snapseed with the “Drama” filter and came out with that. I was just having fun with it. I know you and I both do similar things with our photography regarding filters and other things. I’m an artist, so that tends to overlap into my photography a lot. I have more to come regarding a black and white picture.

      1. We do similar things with our photography in that we both love post processing. πŸ˜€

        However, I seldom use filters. My work is done with brushes. Every inch of my photos is gone over with one of hundreds of different brushes.

        Now, I have to tell you, if you’re getting these results from filters, then your use of filters is well considered and very tasteful.

        Thank you for the kind remarks. Your artist’s eye is clearly evidenced in your work. πŸ˜‰

        Can’t wait for the black and white.

      2. Yes, post processing is a lot of fun. I contrast and play around with saturation with most of my pictures and sometimes, for fun, I use filters, but not often unless I’m feeling adventurous. The black and white will hopefully be included in my journal tomorrow. I’m not at my home at the moment, so I can’t transfer any of the photos from my camera to my laptop. The two pictures above were taken from my phone and processed with my Nikon or Cannon software on my laptop.

        Black and white photography is beautiful, but it’s an area I am not too familiar with. I’m testing the waters with it. What I love about black and white photography is that a photographer can tell a story or set the “mood” just by a photograph since color is absent. That is like being a voice over artist. You can’t see the person, but the voice has to be extremely convincing to the listener to captivate it without any pictures or film (I’m talking about radio). It takes talent! You have talent with black and white- that’s for sure. Thanks for the compliment! πŸ˜€

      3. Oh, because I’m slightly obsessed with the tilt shift thing, I used that with my first picture of the rocky pier. πŸ˜› I have so much fun with that!

  2. While you were enjoying the beach, I climbed Middle Mountain to the summit (3,100 feet) where I saw the biggest black bear I have ever seen. It didn’t even turn around to say good-bye when I left! Some manners. I hope nobody at the beach was unbearable. lol

    1. Haha! I would much rather meet a rude bear that had no manners of saying goodbye, then an “overly friendly” bear that wants me as dinner. LOL. I love hiking, but I am so terrified of encountering a bear along the way. There were a few people on the beach hanging out. It was laid back and peaceful.

      1. It’s our version of the Hamptons or Martha’s Vineyard. All the big stars have huge mansions here; even Oprah has a house in Avalon. I like the whole vibe here at Avalon. You see families bike riding together, having picnics and having a good time. It’s very expensive to have a house here though. Nevertheless, it’s fun to drive around and catch all the sights and little stores. πŸ˜€

My Lords and Ladies, tell me thine thoughts if it pleases thee below...

