Weekly Photo Challenge: The Golden Hour

GOLDENHOURWORDPRESSJAVAGIRLSLIFEBLOG

The first time I took this picture Saturday, my phone did not save it. I had to wait 24 very long hours to get the same lighting. I edited with my Canon software and added the lens filters, which were too much fun.

There is something about the golden hour which just makes my heart and soul so happy and content. I don’t care where in the world I am, it has to do with that soft light and how it casts shadows on the grass and trees. I think my best memories in life have occurred during the golden hours. Science has proven that the soft light of the sun immediately calms one’s spirit. Sunlight rays travels better through thicker air the closer it is to earth, hence the warm tones spread all around. This picture was taken around 5:40 PM. Due to summer hours, the sun was a bit high, but it was close enough for the shadow effects on the grass.

I’m doing a lot of my editing using my apps on my phone, so the black borders is something you’ll be seeing for the rest of the year. I used to have black borders when Photobucket was acting normal and had awesome editing tools, but now I’ve figured how I can do the same things on my phone. I’ve always liked my pictures with black borders anyways.

22 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: The Golden Hour

  1. Excellent example of “Golden Hour” Your Patience and editing really paid dividends. The shadows add depth and intrigue to an already beautiful Photograph. Congrats!

    1. Thank you so much Cliff! Yes, patience can be a good thing, but I must admit, I was a little impatient as any photographer can be when they see something that takes their breath away. πŸ™‚

    1. Haha, that’s not someone’s yard!! πŸ˜› It’s an open space where anyone can walk around. And the pink building is not a house, it’s a church. πŸ˜‰ Thanks for stopping by! πŸ˜€

  2. To me, the Golden hour is something that wakes me from a glorious nap. It snap my cell phone at the sun so maybe the flash will get in its eyes and it will calm the light down a little.

      1. Actually, you were too clever for me to understand. Don’t feel bad. I should be in bed now, but I’m not. I was too busy watching videos on YouTube! (Shakes fists at youtube)

  3. That little church looks so cozy and inviting in this light and composition. Like it’s a safe place that someone finds after a long and dangerous journey through many dark places. What an evocative shot.

    1. Yes, it’s a little chapel where my mom lives. I flipped the picture to have the sun on the right side. It reminded me of Hansel and Gretel for some reason, a piece of land they might have traveled through. So many stories you can think of with photographs. Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Saturated | JavaGirl's Life

My Lords and Ladies, tell me thine thoughts if it pleases thee below...

