My Big Fat Greek Wedding (2002) Movie Review

mybigfatgreekwedding

Cast: Nia Vardalos plays a 30 year old Greek woman named Toula Portokalos who is looking for love, but at the same time trying to understand her Greek roots and traditions. John Corbett playes Ian Miller, a High School teacher who is not Greek, yet falls in love with Toula and wants to be accepted by her family. Ian Gomez plays, Mike, Ian Miller’s bestfriend. Michael Constantine plays Gus Portokalos, Toula’s very Greek father who is steadfast in marrying his daughter off to a Greek man. Lainie Kazan plays Maria Portokalos, Toula’s very well meaning, but loud mother.

Basic movie facts: One night Rita Wilson saw Nia’s one woman stand up comedy show about her life as a Greek woman and decided to make her standup live into a movie. Tom Hanks and Rita Wilson are two of the movie producers of this movie. Ian Gomez who plays “Mike”  is Nia’s (Toula) real life husband. Many of the extras who played family characters  in the movie are real life relatives of Nia and Ian’s family. I recognized Ian Gomez in this movie only because he was in one of my favorite tv shows called “Felicity” where he played a gay guy. John Corbett I obviously knew from Sex in the City, duh.

Pros: This movie is one of my top 10 favorite romantic/comedy movies of all time. I laughed out loud throughout the entire movie which is a good sign that this movie could keep my attention. The dialogue was fun, funny and sarcastic. Nia’s narration was not too much and you could sense her personality through it as a result. One scene I thought was funny was when Toula served Ian’s (John Corbett) coffee cup leaving Ian Gomez looking at his real life wife (Nia=Toula), like, ok….whatever! I just thought that was such a funny scene!

Cons: None. It’s in my top 10, so all movies face immunity in this case.

Music score:  Original music was produced by Alexander Janko and Chris Wilson.

Favorite quote: There were so many quotes I wanted to use, but this one was crazy and funny at the same time. Aunt Voula: [to Ian’s parents] “Now, you are family. Okay. All my life, I had a lump at the back of my neck, right here. Always, a lump. Then I started menopause and the lump got bigger from the “hormonees.” It started to grow. So I go to the doctor, and he did the bio… the b… the… the bios… the… b… the “bobopsy.” Inside the lump he found teeth and a spinal cord. Yes. Inside the lump was my twin.”

Audience reaction: It was only me watching (with you out there, of course). I laughed and laughed! I hope you did too.

Relatability: The reason why I love this movie so much is because I can easily relate to Toula and her personality. There is a scene where she meets “Ian” in the travel agency and she forgets that her headset is on and she walks away only to be yanked back by her headset cord and falls to the floor. That is something that would happen to me. I can be such a dork sometimes. I’m also very shy when it comes to guys I like; I’ll hide behind something if I know he’s looking straight at me or cover my face with the dinner menu at a restaurant (that has actually happened on several occasions). I know that seems shocking to those who say I appear extremely outgoing, but I do have a very shy side to me when it comes to guys I am attracted to.  There is also a scene where Toula asks Ian why he likes her and that is something I find myself asking guys who have been my boyfriends. Sometimes I get a little insecure and just have to ask them why me? All these girls out there and you love me? Why? Haha. I found that scene very sweet and sentimental. John Corbett’s character, Ian, is a combination of all the great qualities of guys I have dated or have had as boyfriends in the past. The guys I’ve dated in the past have come from Holland, Russia, Sweden, Egypt and the United Kingdom. They have all shared their culture with me and I’ve learned about theirs. At the end, you can’t stop love no matter where they come from. It is up to us to look beyond our differences and get alone. We can each learn something from each others culture. Overall, this is a cute movie and not something to over analyze or else it will take away from the funny and sweetness of it. I recommend this movie to anyone!

 

*To see the entire movie, look at the blog post before this one.

14 thoughts on “My Big Fat Greek Wedding (2002) Movie Review

  1. This has to be one of the all time fun movies for everyone. Nia is from Canada, born in Winnipeg where my He-Who is from. She is one of our Canadian treasures. We get to see her every day now as she is one of the Rogers spokespeople and is in all their advertising.
    John Corbett, is one of the sweetest guys (at least on screen). Believe it or not there was life before “Sex and the City” and people my age fell in love with him as the quirky on-air radio guy in “Northern Exposure”. If you really want to melt at John Corbett watch a couple of episodes and listen to him doing his radio stuff. Swooooooooooon…

    1. You guys sure have gems up there, that’s for sure. 😀 What is “Rogers”? I had heard about the show Northern Exposure when I was younger. I remember it was a huge deal and extremely popular. I use to think, ‘That’s a show for grown folks”. Lol. Was John in all the episodes as one of the main characters? I’ll have to YouTube him. You know. John Corbett is the type of guy I’ve always been attracted to. The kind of guy who is soft spoken, but has great self confidence. There is this solidarity and down to earthiness he exudes-it’s quite nice to see in the movies and shows he’s in. Just a calming presence. I think more guys should be like John Corbett. 😀

      1. Rogers is a cable/phone/internet carrier here. One of the big players. She did have her own show for awhile based on the movie but unfortunately it didn’t fly.
        As for John Corbett, he is one of the good guys. He was one of the main characters and brilliant in it. You will love the series.

  2. Pingback: Iron Man 3, 100% & Shitfest 2013 | filmhipster

  3. Pingback: Iron Man 3, 100% & Shitfest 2013 | filmhipster

    1. Wait!!!! I have the entire movie on there. It’s from YouTube. So, please do not rent when it’s free right here on WP. The blog post is called “Another movie date with you” and the movie is on there. Enjoy the movie!!!

      1. OOOH I SAW THAT!!! I didn’t end up buying the movie last night- I was too preoccupied with throwing expensive vitamins in my cart… I think tonight after my stuff is done, I think I’m going to sit down and watch it!

      2. I had wanted to watch a movie my buddy FilmHipster wrote about, but due to a pending deadline for work, I was unable to. Maybe tonight I’ll watch it. I’m a romantic at heart and this movie was cute. It’s nothing compared to The Notebook, but it’s all in good fun. I hope you enjoy it! John Corbett is a cutie pie, that’s for sure! 😀 Keep up the great job you are doing over there on your blog site! It’s great!! 🙂

My Lords and Ladies, tell me thine thoughts if it pleases thee below...

