Two coffees and 4 suspended, please.

This story will warm you better than a coffee in a cold winter day:

“We enter a little coffeehouse with a friend of mine and give our order. While we’re approaching our table two people come in and they go to the counter –

‘Five coffees, please. Two of them for us and three suspended’

They pay for their order, take the two and leave. I ask my friend:
‘What are those ‘suspended’ coffees ?’
‘Wait for it and you will see’

Some more people enter. Two girls ask for one coffee each, pay and go. The next order was for seven coffees and it was made by three lawyers – three for them and four ‘suspended’. While I still wonder what’s the deal with those ‘suspended’ coffees I enjoy the sunny weather and the beautiful view towards the square in front of the cafรฉ. Suddenly a man dressed in shabby clothes who looks like a beggar comes in through the door and kindly asks

‘Do you have a suspended coffee?’

It’s simple – people pay in advance for a coffee meant for someone who can not afford a warm beverage. The tradition with the suspended coffees started in Naples, but it has spread all over the world and in some places you can order not only a suspended coffee, but also a sandwich or a whole meal.”

starbucks

Image credit: Facebook
Story credit: R.Morel

19 thoughts on “Two coffees and 4 suspended, please.

  1. GaryLee828

    That’s how I date. I take a girl to a restaurant and when we walk in I ask “Do you have two suspended meals?” and if they say no, as they usually do, I turn to my date and tell her we need to go somewhere else.

    This one girl who was such a complainer and a real thorn in my side started to get agitated when we went to 6 different restaurants in one night; she finally said, “Listen if money is an issue I will pay for dinner!” and I turned to her with eyes of fury “Don’t…you…sass…me.”

    She then got all weird and said I freaked her out and she stopped taking my calls. I left her 8 voicemails over the weekend and apologized profusely! I have no idea why she didn’t accept. I called her the next week and told her I wanted to send a dozen roses to show my sincerity but the shop didn’t have any suspended bouquets. So, I told her as soon as I found a shop that did that she can expect fresh cut flowers at her doorstep any day!

    I have no idea why she hasn’t responded!

    THE END ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Haha! That is the funniest comment I’ve read in a very long time! That’s awesome, good story Gary. I had no idea what a suspended coffee was until a few hours ago. So….I’m guessing you never found a shop that had suspended flowers. ๐Ÿ˜› I need a higher suspended paycheck. ๐Ÿ˜›

  2. I do not know if I cry or laugh ! <—-I 'm kidding

    Calm I explain my point of view this two post!
    The first post I liked , and find very noble people who practice this act of paying for meals suspended others who are poor and needy !
    Of course the second posting I laugh because it's like a joke , I only understand after reading twice, why will not she answer the message boy !

    1. Well, if it makes you feel any better, I’m laughing at the translation you are using. Feel free to write in Portuguese because I’ll still understand you perfectly. Are you using Bing translator because I’ve used that before and it makes my friends laugh hysterically because the translation is so bizarre. Yes, it’s a noble thing to do to help others out. At least when they come in, they can warm up a little bit at a table instead of being outside in the cold…brrrrr! Yes, Gary story was funny! You can follow his blogs and any other bloggers who stop by and comment. Interactive bloggers are the best because they are just friendly people! You know how we Brazilians love friendly folks! Tchau! Gostei que voce stopped by and commented! Abracos grande!!!

    2. GaryLee828

      Alex, my post was a joke by the way! lol. ๐Ÿ™‚

      It was just my sly way of subtly conveying to Java that I know how to make women swoon over me, and it’s already working b/c she secret messaged me her address. I wrote her back and told her I was flying in for a visit, but we have to wait until a suspended plane ticket is available.

  3. Hey…this is a great post..thanx for introducing with this concept of “suspended”. A nice way 2 lend a helping hand to the needy…to do the least we can..

  4. I read in the news a drive-thru customer at Starbucks paid for the customer behind him. The next-in-line customer was obviously surprised and caught off guard by this generosity that he/she also did the same thing. For a couple of hours did this cycle go on repeat.

    Although this doesn’t fit the definition of suspended, it’s a nice gesture, nonetheless.

My Lords and Ladies, tell me thine thoughts if it pleases thee below...

