Who is making turkey this year?

Hello friends!

I decided to take some time out to blog as I’ve been super busy at work. I still have a lot to do, but I just had to watch a Dr. Katz video. Remember those? For those who don’t know, anyone who was in their college years during the 90’s knew and watched Dr. Katz; a cult animated tv show for some on the Comedy Central channel. For some reason, I always thought this particular clip was so funny, I just am always beside myself whenever I watch it. “Ben” (voiced by H. Jon Benjamin) is the son of “Dr. Katz” (voiced by Jonathan Katz) who is considered by society as a loser. “Laura” (voice by Laura Silverman) works as the bored, leave-me-alone-or-I’ll-bite-your-head-off receptionist for Dr. Katz. So, in this video clip, Ben is pretending that he and Laura are dating and acting like the best imaginary boyfriend to the non-existent relationship with Laura. Things start off awkward, only to take the turn for the worst when Ben cooks the turkey. Ben’s mom reminds me a little bit of my Aunt Pat who passed away several years ago; she spoke like her and was very complimentary to others. The cartoon is not like others where it is drawn with precise lines of the characters, but instead uses the version of Squigglevision where the outlines of the characters keep changing slightly. To some, this may take some time to get use to, but for others, the story of the show makes you quickly appreciate it.

Any great plans for Thanksgiving? This year we are going to my cousin’s house and eating there. I’m looking forward to it as it’s a nice way to spend the holidays. So what are you thankful for? I know I am thankful for another year of great health. The past several years (2 years in a row) I was hospitalized with a bad case of asthma and for pneumonia which almost sent me to the ICU, not counting the countless times I had to go to the ER for bronchitis. I had to have 200% of oxygen pumped into me because I was so sick when I had pneumonia. Since then, I’ve had a great doctor who has taken great care of me and I’ve only had a little cold this year. I’m thankful for a healthy year and I’m always thankful to be alive. I’m thankful that my mom is still around as she is battling with her issues. So many of her friends have passed away with cancer and two new friends of hers have been diagnosed with cancer. I’m thankful for having a job; so many out there are looking for work and doing their best to feed their families. A lot is going on in this world and it’s hard to be thankful sometimes, but things happen for a reason.

But it’s also good to sit back and chuckle when things get too intense. It takes the stress away and lowers your blood pressure. Hope everyone has a great Thanksgiving and please don’t do what Ben does in this video!

One more thing, I want to welcome with a big hug my latest subscribers. Thank you for following my blog! You guys are the best!

6 thoughts on “Who is making turkey this year?

  1. Cheers to you being able to celebrate with relatives instead of with hospital staff! We’ll be at my sister-in-laws … so no cooking for me … thus focus on food, wine, and conversation. Happy Thanksgiving to you!

  2. Michelle Gillies

    How have I never seen this “Dr. Katz” before? That was hysterical. I love it.
    Thank you for pointing to it.
    Happy Thanksgiving.

My Lords and Ladies, tell me thine thoughts if it pleases thee below...

