Beautiful underwater sand design


Photo credit: Yoji Ookata

Guess what made this mysterious “crop circle”? A male puffer fish! Apparently, this tiny male puffer fish was getting his swag on and made this entire design all by himself. What a talented little fellow! This picture was taken by Japanese diver and photographer, Yoji Ookata, who observed the courtship of puffer fishes and the process it took just to attract the female puffer fish.

The male puffer fish uses a fin and steadily creates a design of around 6 feet. Making the ridges and curves is the clue in hooking the female puffer fish in. It is believed, the more ridges and hills the “crop circle” has, the chances are greater of the two fishes reproducing and laying their eggs in the middle of the circle.

Nature is so mysterious, yet beautiful in how creatures attract each other. As for me, no need for fancy underwater sand designs. A sweet smile and an adorable laugh will do just fine.

Hope everyone has a nice week!

14 thoughts on “Beautiful underwater sand design

  1. Michelle Gillies

    That is pretty cool. It reminds of a toy I had as a child that would make designs like this. Not as dimensional as this of course. It was called “Spirograph” I think.
    If you find someone with as sweet a smile as yours the angels will weep with happiness.

    1. I think I know which toy you’re talking about. Do they still sell them? I use to spend hours creating those designs. They bring me good memories of the beach house down in Brazil we stayed in. It was usually raining when I’d use this toy and I couldn’t go down to the beach. The fish design reminded me initially of those cool mandalas pictures. They are often used by therapists for art therapy. Mandalas are used for all kind of interesting things. At first I thought, “That puffer fish just did an underwater mandala design, how clever!” Lol. Adventure Boy always gives me the sweetest smiles. 🙂

    1. Hi Munchow! So nice to see you stop by! Yes, those male puffer fish sure know how to impress the ladies, huh! Animals aren’t given enough credit regarding their many talents. This is just one of many, I’m sure. Amazing isn’t it? 🙂

    1. Hello Carolynpageabc! I agree with you! If I were a diver and saw these designs, I’d be initially scared of what exactly underneath the sand. Then of course, my curiousity would get the best of me and I’d have to take a closer look. Once I would see the tiny fish working his little fin off designing, I’d be amazed and transfixed. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

My Lords and Ladies, tell me thine thoughts if it pleases thee below...

