International dishes made into flags

Hello friends!

So, who is hungry? I found some International dishes you might be interested in. Not all countries were created, but here are some that were made for the Sidney International Food Festival. Let me know what you think. What other items would you add to the dishes?

AUSTRALIA: Meatpie and sauce.
My thoughts: I love meatpies!

BRAZIL: Banana leaf, limes, pineapple and passion fruit.
My thoughts: I would have substituted the pineapple with mangos sliced up. The mangos would have stood out brighter in color.

CHINA: Pittaya/Dragon fruit and star fruit.
My thoughts: Never heard of Pittaya. Wonder what they taste like..

FRANCE: Blue cheese, brie and grapes.
My thoughts: Oui, cela semble délicieux!

GREECE: Feta cheese and kalamata olives.
My thoughts: Oh yes, please!

INDIA: Curry, rice, pappadum and wafer.
My thoughts: I usually never eat curry, but I’d try this!

INDONESIA: Spicy curries and rice.
My thoughts: Looks pretty and I love rice!!

ITALY: Basil, pasta and tomatoes.
My thoughts: I’ve always loved Italian delicacy.

JAPAN: Rice and tuna.
My thoughts: Simple and delicate..

LEBANON: Lavash, fattoush, herb spring.
My thoughts: The presentation is bold with a pop of color. Very nice!

SOUTH KOREA: Kimbap and sauce.
My thoughts: I would eat this! One of my favorite pictures of the food dishes.

SPAIN: Chorizo and rice.
My thoughts: No time for thoughts on this one, I just want to eat this one now!

SWITZERLAND: Charcuteries and emmental.
My thoughts: Mmmm. Cheese.

THAILAND: Sweet chilli sauce, shredded coconut and blue swimmer crabs.
My thoughts: Too bad I’m allergic to shell fish. Look how blue that crab is!

TURKEY: Turkish delight.
My thoughts: I’ve never had a Turkish delight, ever! I must try one soon.

UNITED KINGDOM: Scone, cream and jams.
My thoughts: Very pretty, you almost don’t want to eat it! I’d like 2 of these please!

UNITED STATES: Hotdogs, ketchup, mustard or cheese.
My thoughts: Everyone else has exotic fruits and we have something fattening? Hm.

VIETNAM: Rambutan, lychee, star fruit.
My thoughts: I like the different shades of colors in this one.

Source: WHYBIN/TBWA
Photo credit: Natalie Boog

32 thoughts on “International dishes made into flags

  1. Awesome! Cool! Clever! Creative!

    I love the Indian one the most. US is pitiful to have hotdogs as their atypical food/ingredient. Right? The flag represents their cuisine? I’m most curious about China’s. I’m curious what it tastes like.

    1. Java Girl

      Yes, I agree with you. The hotdog buns aren’t exactly “white” for the flag colors. China’s looks very interesting. I really wished they could have included some other countries as well such as Canada, Germany, Ireland and Romania (to name a few)…there were other very basic colored flags. I would have been interested in what they would have used for their local foods to make up their flags. Nevertheless, they are all beautiful. 🙂

  2. So fun! We’re going to a Greek themed dinner this weekend and are responsible for bringing appetizers…we’ll be including the olive and feta flag. Thanks for sharing this and thanks for the like on my blog too.

    1. That sounds exciting and delicious! I personally love the Greek themed flag plate. Especially since I love olives and cheese! Have fun at the dinner! 🙂 Oh, you are most welcome for the “like”.

  3. jackdeth72

    Hi, Java Girl:

    Some very clever and delectable offerings here.

    Like the use of Tater Tots for stars in the American flag!

    The UK flag screams icons of Empire. Far too pretty to eat. Definitely need a second.

    South Korea’s flag is both minimalist and very inviting!

    Italy’s flag speaks for itself.

    A very memorable find here!

    1. Did you like Greece? Yum….I didn’t know they were tater tots! Eagle eye you’ve got there! Those UK scones are delicious, no? Yes, I found them incredibly delicious and fun for the eyes. I wish they included Australia, but I understand some countries are so hard to replicate using their local foods. Imagine Iceland? Haha

      1. She’s cute! Funny thing is, I use to wear my hair up in pigtails too when I was in 4th grade, haha! Today, 4th grade girls dress so much different!

My Lords and Ladies, tell me thine thoughts if it pleases thee below...

