Photo Challenge: Flower

Hello everyone!

This past Sunday we went to Wheaton Arts Village and they had a little Medieval Festival going on. We only got to see the last 45 minutes of it, so I didn’t catch too many photo opportunities, but it was enough to convince my mom to go to the huge Renaissaance Faire in Pa this summer. I’ll definitely take photos for that, so be in the lookout for it. I love taking photos of flowers as you can tell below.


This flower was literally standing all alone as we walked past it. How can one ignore such beauty and not immortalize it? The sun was shining on it just perfectly.


This is an old concept of growing flowers. It was started in France as stated by a sign near the plants.


This was it looked like with many more glass encased plants. I stooped very low for this picture- I might have just laid flat on the concrete-but I wasn’t having none of it. I love low angle shots.


Gandalf! Whatever happened to you? You are wood! This wood carving was by a little store and caught my attention. The more I looked at it, the more I kept thinking of Tolkien books. If all trees had faces, I doubt we’d cut them as much as we do. They would scream in pain as we see here. What a captivating face that you can interpret in so many ways.


Time travelers. You see them now and then.


This was a great play put on by the very talented actors. I love how everyone speaks with a British accent.


As we were walking to our next destination, we passed these flowers in the sunlight on a roof! I had to stop and capture it because the sun was just making the flowers glow.

7 thoughts on “Photo Challenge: Flower

  1. Looks like you had a good day! A Medieval Festival is always fun 🙂 It brings me back memories from festivals in Sweden. I use to visit this festivals in the summer, in my childhood. I especially like the pics you have taken. You’re so such good photographer! 😀 You have an eye on how make the pics so alive and professional. I can almost feel I’m there! Great blog! 😉

      1. We have a neighborhood party on the fourth … and hope to do something on the days after, but unsure at the moment. Much will depend on the weather, as Cincinnati is getting the same blast furnace as you. YUK!

  2. Michelle Gillies

    Medieval Festivals are great! I have been to a couple of smaller ones. You will have a great time at the Renaissaance Faire in PA.
    Love the photos. I used to grow plants in those big glass jars. It was very popular in the 70s. It works really well.

      1. Michelle Gillies

        I received one as a gift in the 70’s. It was really large and I kept it in my living room. It worked somewhat like a terrarium and everything stayed moist and warm inside so you could grow more exotic/tropical type plants than would usually survive in Canada. Mine thrived and was very lush. When I went through my cancer treatment all my plants died from my toxicity except for one (it is still with me today). Unfortunately, my glass garden was among the ones who didn’t make it..

My Lords and Ladies, tell me thine thoughts if it pleases thee below...

