Photo Challenge: Childhood Memory

Sigh. Oh well. You can’t please everyone. Anyways, here is my childhood memory of today’s photo challenge. Today my mom and several other new friends took me out to a fabulous Brazilian restaurant in Philly. I was so happy to eat great Brazilian food and later decided to go food shopping at a local store that carried Brazilian goods. With exported foods, they come a bit pricey, but tomorrow is my birthday and I wanted to treat myself. Here are some things I’ve grown up as a child that brings back treasure memories of my childhood. I bought some powdered milk because after 19 years here in the US, I still can’t get use to American milk. Some perfumed soaps that remind me of lush tropical flowers, Brazilian soda which is unlike any other, farofa which is one of the main staples of Brazilian dishes, Acai drink and Goiabada which is a very sweet dessert that you need to take a small slice of and eat slowly. I can’t describe it, but it’s good. It was a good day and I’m glad I bought these items. Somehow I feel as though I’ll need them to not have a bad Monday. Looking forward to seeing one of my clients graduate tomorrow night. I’m so proud of her. Makes all the hard work and crazy deadlines all worth it just to see I made a tiny bit of a difference.

See you guys tomorrow.

4 thoughts on “Photo Challenge: Childhood Memory

  1. Michelle Gillies

    Often our childhood memories are tied up in food no matter where you are from. It is how our Mother’s nurtured us, how they comforted us. It is the international standard for childhood memories. Thanks for sharing this with us.

    1. Thanks Michelle. As you can tell, I’m just getting to my comments a bit late. What were some of your favorite childhood foods? I have some favorites of when I was in the States for my Kindergarten, 4th grade and 7th grade years of school. I think of my grandfather whenever I eat “Honey Oats” because that was his favorite and also cracker jacks. Remember them? And remember how toys would come inside cereal boxes? Good times.

  2. Interestingly, I see the Nestle on a label – and more evidence why they are the largest producer of food products in the world.

    Oh – glad you have a store to take care of your Brazilian culinary urges.

My Lords and Ladies, tell me thine thoughts if it pleases thee below...

