I’ve always liked this story…

I awoke early, as I often did, to walk by the ocean’s edge and greet the new day. As I moved through the misty dawn, I focused on a faint, far away motion. I saw a young boy, bending and reaching and flailing his arms, dancing on the beach, no doubt in celebration of the perfect day soon to begin. As I approached, I sadly realized that the young boy was not dancing to the bay, but rather bending to sift through the debris left by the night’s tide stopping now and then to pick up a starfish and then standing, to heave it back into the sea. I asked the young boy the purpose of the effort. “The tide has washed the starfish unto the beach and they can’t return to the sea by themselves,” the young boy replied. “When the sun rises, they will die, unless I throw them back to the sea.” As the young boy explained, I surveyed the vast expanse of the beach, stretching in both directions beyond my sight. Starfish littered the shores in numbers. Beyond calculations. The hopelessness of the young boys’s plan became clear to me and I countered, “There are more starfish on this beach than you can ever save. Surely you can’t expect to make a difference.” The young boy paused briefly to consider my words, bent to pick up a starfish and threw it as far as possible. Turning to me, he simply said,

“I made a difference to that one. “

Blogger’s note: This story reminded me of all the bloggers I’ve been touched by what they write. You bring smiles to me after a busy and hectic day. Your photos inspire me. Your stories resonate through my mind and I live vicariously through your adventures. You do make a difference; I just thought you should know. Wherever you are. I hope I bring a smile to someone even in the most remote of places too. Have a great Friday!.

13 thoughts on “I’ve always liked this story…

    1. Thank you my friend! This blog is for all the bloggers out there who write their hearts out and other ones that have caught my attention as I surf online in the land of blogging!

    1. The above is meant for your previous post.
      Not sure it’s me or my computer someone’s losing mind. 🙂

      Comment for this post:
      Awesome story and awesome you for having such a high regards for fellow co-bloggers. I’d still be curious how stupidity from my blog can make any difference. May be it does if you don’t follow what’s mentioned there! 🙂

      1. I see all the effort and hard work the bloggers on WordPress do because it does take time to choose what pictures you want to upload, it takes time to know what you will write about and overall it can be time consuming. I blog because it relaxes me whether it is long or short. I like to remind bloggers that I appreciate all their hard work. I do that with my friends who are musicians and photographers too (in real life). Feeling appreciated for doing hard work feels great and should be done more often. Thanks for your comment. I sincerely appreciate it and hope you have a great weekend! 🙂

    2. I rarely go to Starbucks myself (I like my coffee Brazilian style), but I know several of my readers like it. I’ll try one of these drinks for sure! Thanks for stopping by!

  1. Michelle Gillies

    I don’t remember ever hearing that story. It is lovely. I think we all hope to make a difference to someone and letting them know you appreciate them always makes a difference. This is why you are “Java Girl”, Class act.

    1. Thank you! You are so sweet! It makes me happy even if it took just one person to stop by and read my blog. I take nothing for granted. Hope you’ll have a wonderful and sweet day tomorrow!

  2. I love bloggers that bring both information and inspiration to the world as you do. As for the starfish story, there is a new childrens picture book out called Starfish on the Beach that tells that same story in a new way. It is available on Amazon and just this month hit their #2 best seller spot! I guess that story speaks to a lot of people. Anyway, how do I know? I illustrated it. : )

    1. Ah yes! You must be Lindy Schneider then! Before I wrote this comment I went on Amazon to take a peek at your illustrations-very nice! Congratulations on your book being #2 on Amazon!

My Lords and Ladies, tell me thine thoughts if it pleases thee below...

