A year later…

Hi everyone!

Guess what? Tonight I reached 50,000 views on my blog! Thanks to everyone who stopped by the past year. Some days I’d get a lot of views even though I hadn’t written anything. I have no idea how that happens, but it is a sweet surprise. Wow. So a whole year has flown by since I started my little blog. How do I commemorate? Well, for starters I’ll show some pictures of life in Brazil. I rarely do this, but tonight it feels right to do so. Back in the day, I didn’t own a digital camera, only the old school ones. So, I had to take a photo of my old photos. You may see a bright light reflected in the background.

First, I just want to quickly give some advice to any new bloggers out there who are just starting out. I noticed I’ve gotten some newbies as subscribers, so this one is just for you. These are 12 things I’ve learned from blogging the past year.

1. Don’t expect massive views when you first begin. I was so excited when I’d get at least 50 views a week! To me, that was success! There were days when I’d only get 11 views in one week. Don’t get discouraged. Keep on plugging’ away at the keyboard.

2. Remember why you blog. Are you blogging just to get noticed? People will notice that right away. They want to see you and read what makes you happy, sad or whatever you feel.

3. Reply to every single comment if you can. I was so excited when I had my first comment from Josiah. I couldn’t believe someone took the time to leave a comment. If people take the time to leave you a comment, be nice enough to reply back to them. It’s not fun to put thought into someone’s blog and then have them ignore you. It makes them appear arrogant or “too good” to say thank you.

4. Always be sure to check out “Freshly Pressed” bloggers and “like” or leave them a nice comment. You’ll find some great bloggers there and that’s where I’ve met some of my new friends.

5. Find a good and successful blogger who you can watch and learn from. What makes them get so many views? Is it how they interact with their subscribers? The most successful bloggers respond to every comment they receive, even if they are bombarded by commentators. Sure, it takes a lot of time, but it’s worth it in the long run. Successful bloggers also write about things that their particular audience likes.

6. No one is forcing you to write your entire life on a daily basis. Keep certain things private, unless you want the attention of stalkers and psychopaths.

7. You’ll notice what kind of people will subscribe to your blog. I’ve noticed I have photographers, adventurers, travelers, authors, foodies and fashionistas following me. I’ve also noticed a lot of them are highly intelligent and extremely sweet. I am a lucky girl. I love all my subscribers!

8. There will be days when you just don’t know what to write about. That’s fine. The world will not end, unless you believe the Mayans around December.

9. When you write a blog, don’t forget to do your “tags”. Your tags will be able to help other bloggers find you faster and if you are lucky, the WP gods might add your blog to their “best of tags” department, which is like a mini Freshly Pressed which I’ve been a part of several times in the past (thanks WordPress!). There are many tag departments such as arts, photography etc where you can also search out like-minded bloggers such as yourself.

10. Try not to compare your own blog to others. You are what makes your blog special, not theirs.

11. Don’t forget your “Proofread” icon on your “Add New Post” tabs before publishing your blogs!

12. Last but not least, acknowledge your viewers from around the world! I’m always flattered when someone from a country I’ve never heard before takes the time to stop by my page! I write specifically to include international readers. I know they translate my page a lot.

Whew. I know that was a lot. Those are just things I have come to realize over a course of the year. Ok. On to the pictures!


This was during my High School Trip from Northern Brazil to Argentina by bus. Our High School was small, so the entire 9-12 graders were able to go. This was taken at Iguacu do Foz on the Brazilian side. Yes, it does look like a scene from Lord of the Rings. If you haven’t been to this place, you must go before you turn 100 years old. This place is beautiful beyond words and simply stunning! I’ve been to this place two times. Most of the people pictured here in this photo are now married and have children of their own.


Here is what it looks like to walk beside and along the stone walkways down by the many Iguacu Falls. There are many tiny trails that snake their way around the waterfalls. It’s quite lovely and you can see a boat speed by with screaming tourists enjoying their ride close to the waterfalls below.


This picture is just insane. Why? Because this is called the “Devil’s Throat” at Iguacu Falls. It is here that you can feel the mighty power of the waterfalls. I was crazy enough to go with some of my classmates on a raft boat that had a motor on it. The man in the boat got within several feet from the edge of the waterfall before turning the boat around and speeding back to land. It was terrifying, but at least now I have bragging rights to say I was close to the Devil’s Throat and didn’t fall over. No, I wouldn’t do it again! I love how the sky looks spooky and gloomy, it sure adds effect to the crazy ride we all had!

Fortaleza, Brazil has got to be one of my favorite places in Brazil to vacation (next to Rio, of course). Fortaleza was like my little paradise town where I could ride on dune buggies up and down the sand dunes, ride on shrimp boats in the ocean with crazy fishermen, drink freshly pressed juice right on the beach served from a little hut, not be bothered by a lot of people, collect sand dollars on the beach and take a walk in the colored “canyons”. These are my two friends from NJ who came down to visit me one year. The girl in the back is getting married this Friday which I’ll be attending! This was taken back in the day when we were all teenagers! Notice how blue the sky is? It’s like that every single day!

Ok. So, there are a few pictures of my life in Brazil. Hope everyone has a great week and thanks for stopping by!

xoxo

25 thoughts on “A year later…

  1. Your pictures looks like PARADISE! I LOVE waterfalls so much! It could be from a LOTR-movie, seriously 😉 I’m glad your blog have been a success. Keep the blog alive.. I look forward to continue follow your blog. Happy 1 year’s anniversary!

  2. Congrats on the views milestone. Excellent pointers for all bloggers! And then the added bonus of the images from one of the world’s natural wonders. So I say that this post gets Freshly Pressed. 🙂 Well done and keep up the good work.

    1. Aww, thanks Frank. That means a lot. It is a wonderful place to visit and I’d go back there in a heartbeat. The only thing I didn’t like was the humidity! Other than that, butterflies were everywhere giving it a otherworldly feeling.

      1. I know. I try to make all my blog posts family friendly. I do most of these blogs for my son to read about and to discover the world around him. 🙂

  3. Malou

    Congratulations on the milestone viewership! This is a great post on why you and I are blogging. I love the pictures too which make me want to book a trip to Brazil right now. 😉

    1. Thanks my friend! Brazil is a very beautiful yet mysterious country. I love the laid back attitude and friendliness of everyone. You would feel very welcomed! 🙂

  4. Congratulations on the first birthday! Thanks for the tips, I totally agree with you on all the bullets, it is good to remind it to myself, although I’m new here, I have several years of blogging where I’ve met lots of real and virtual friends, these things are important.

    The first picture really looks like a postcard. This place is definitely in my 2visit list awaiting its time. Thanks for sharing these photos! By the way, the wedding that you are attending will take place in Brazil or US?

    1. Thanks Olga! I personally think FB is incredibly fast paced, but the people and writers on WP are much more genuine. I love it here! I had to stand far away on steps from my classmates to take the first picture. The wedding is going to be in the US. I wish I was in Brazil as it would give me a great excuse to head down there once again. However; I’ve got a fresh cold so I’m not sure how I’ll be feeling to go to it. Thanks for stopping by and you’ve got a new subscriber (me). Very interesting page you’ve got there!

    1. Thanks Wes! The Field trip lasted two weeks on the bus while visiting other High Schools along the way. We all had lots of fun visiting many wonderful beaches, malls, forests, parks and waterfalls. We almost lost a classmate in Argentina because he came late to the bus! Thanks for stopping by!

  5. Congratulations, and very well done.

    Great pointers here as well. I disagree with number four. But other than that, I wish more people would take your advice.

    The pictures are great by the way. 🙂

    1. 50,000 in a few years? Jai, you’ll be hitting those numbers in no time, believe me! I say within a year, trust me! 🙂 Keep shooting those amazing photographs and I’ll continue to pinterest them! The third picture was from land. From that view point, there was a fenced in ledge that you could stand and look closer from a safe distance at the waterfall. The mist was so dense, after standing there for a few minutes, you would be soaked from head to toe (awesomeness in my opinion). I have another picture of that, I’ll have to dig it up and add it to this blog to show you. Thanks for stopping by!

    1. Thank you! It was like going through a vault of ancient pictures of my High School memories. I truly adore these photos. I could add more, if I find them. When I do, you’ll be able to see some of my other High School Trip down in Brazil. Thanks for stopping by thoughtsappear!

  6. First of all I want to congratulate you with the milestone. That is a wonderful achievement. And even though I am not among the complete newbies, I still enjoyed reading your list of good advices (and I have to admit that I fail to comply with you suggestion number 3. I think it’s a good advice, but time just doesn’t suffice, not for me at least. It’s not because I feel I am too good, but I can see that it may be read this way. I have made it a rule, though, that I will always comment on anyone’s blog in return).

    The view back in time was delightful. I love the photographs. They hold so much passion and joy and life, and are a complete treat. Thank you for sharing. And, yes, Foz do Iguazu is a very special place. I have been there, and loved it completely.

    1. You’ve been to Foz de Iguacu? That’s so wonderful to hear! I’m happy to know a fellow blogger has gone there and knows exactly what I mean. Your blog is one of a select few that I follow closely, watch and see as mentors in the world of blogging. I admire your writing style so much, I feel as though I am just a mere mortal blogger learning from a sensei. 🙂 Hope you’re having a great Easter weekend Munchow! Thanks for always taking the time to stop by my blog and leaving a comment, I appreciate it!

      1. Thanks for the nice words. But sensei? I can only return you words and say I so enjoy follow your blog. Let’s agree that we both can learn from each other. Happy Easter to you too!

My Lords and Ladies, tell me thine thoughts if it pleases thee below...

