Coolest inventions of 2011

Hello!

I know this post isn’t Christmas themed, but it does reflect some inventions that have either passed right by us or were tucked under some other news article. I give you some interesting inventions people came up with this year. Don’t worry, I didn’t know some of these existed, but it’s always good to be on the “know”. Here we go.

UNICEF’s Digital Drum

According to Time Magazine, they named this as the most important invention of the year. This disk looking contraption is solar powered which is being tested in the country of Uganda where resources are extremely limited via the internet. This digital drum is preloaded with information about health, education and other information important to the community such as job postings. This digital drum is weather proof and made out of low cost metal which is useful in countries where other metals and materials would be much more costly.

Neurowear’s Necomimi Headband

Talk about wearing your heart on your sleeve…er…I mean, ears. Allow me to explain. This built in sensor inside the headband made by a Japanese company Neurowear, sends brainwaves to the ears which make it move. When you’re feeling relaxed and comfortable, your catlike ears will be downward. When you see something you like (for me it would be the mere sight of truffles and I’m sure the ears would spin around with excitement), the increased brainwaves will make the catlike ears stand up at attention. So, ladies. I dare you to wear these catlike ears when passing by a cute guy and you don’t want him to know you are not at the least bit interested in him. Your ears will totally give you away in what you really think. I don’t know who would wear these headbands, but I think they seem pretty fun and funny at the same time.

QMilch

Bye bye cotton! Hello QMilch! Say the apocalypse is coming and you will run for the hills and caves where you will no longer be near your favorite fashion store. Well, guess what? All you need is a cow! Yes, you heard me right! A cow, you might ask. Why? And what does that have to do with that picture below? Well, believe it or not, that container of milk and the white fabric in front of it was made entirely from milk! Fashion designer and biologist, Anke Domaske, invented another form of material for clothes. How does she do it? She uses sour milk and later extracts the protein from the milk. The protein is then spun into a yarn, thus the Qmilch flexible fabric is born. What does it feel like? The fabric made from sour milk feels much like silk. So from one and a half gallons of milk from your cow, you can make a shirt and a dress from it. So, never, ever underestimate the power of the cow’s milk!

Nano Air Vehicle (NAV)

Aww, what a cute little hummingbird. It’s a remote controlled spying aircraft? Not only is it cute and cuddly looking, this tiny aircraft costs, oh, $4 million dollars. This hummingbird device has a built in camera. With this cool tiny device, you can use it to scout out survivors during earthquakes, floods or any other disaster. There are many uses for this spy driven bird as it is tiny and can go where most people can’t or shouldn’t. I think I may just get one. After I win the lottery, of course. Come to think of it, my mom’s house has several hummingbirds flying around her window. Hmmm. If you have a cat, I’d suggest flying this aircraft far away from the cat as it will naturally go after your $4 million aircraft.

Thin-Film Solar Panels

Yes, solar panels are a dime a dozen, but often they are bulky and very heavy. Thanks to the year of 2011, it was a good year for solar panels to become much lighter and expansive for builders. These thin film solar panels are very flexible that can be rolled up or unrolled for a wall or roof. Personally, I’m still waiting for the roll up laptop powered by a thin flexible solar panel, but that’s another blog for the future. Maybe next year? It will be interesting to see what 2012 brings regarding inventions. Other inventions included a 3D map that was 6 feet long and buildings were as tall as 12 inches high. Think of Avatar and that one scene where they are looking at Pandora with the tree. Yes. They invented that exact type of 3D map this year!

In other news.

I’ll be going to see an IMAX movie of “Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol” come Friday, so perhaps I’ll tweet or blog about it. I’m very excited as I never seen an action film on an IMAX screen before. I’ve seen documentaries with fish swimming around, but this will be a action packed movie which is just right up my alley. What do you think of the inventions of this year? I must say, the dresses made out of cow’s milk truly surprised me. I am slightly curious as to how they would smell. If anyone ever buys those QMilch dresses, please let me know. They do run on the pricey side though.

6 thoughts on “Coolest inventions of 2011

    1. Hahahahahaha!! I know right? With one cow, it’s like, “Hm. Steak? Or clothes? Steak? Or clothes? Such a tough choice. I guess I’d have to milk it and then just have chicken instead to eat. Good for the cow, bad for the chickens! 😀

My Lords and Ladies, tell me thine thoughts if it pleases thee below...

