Making a snowman cupcake

For this fun and wintery dessert, you’ll need the following:

Cooled cupcake
White icing (for the “snow” and to hold the hat together)
Large marshmallows (for body and head)
Waxed paper
Pretzel sticks (for the arms and to hold the body and head together)
Decorators’ gel or chocolate jimmies (to make the eyes and mouth)
Orange slice candy (for the nose)
Miniature Reece’s Pieces (upper part of hat)
Patty Mints (bottom part of hat)
Fruit rollup or a stretchy candy (scarf)
Decorative snowflakes (optional)

On the wax paper, smash a big marshmellow for the body.

Connect the smashed bottom marshmellow body to another marshmellow that will be the head.

Push the pretzel stick holding the head and body into the cupcake so that it stands on top of the cupcake.

Decorate the cupcake with white icing. Decorative snowflakes are optional. I just happened to have them around in my cupboard so I sprinkled a few on there.

If you have Fruit rollups, you can cut them in long strips and add some fringes like I did. I had more fun making the fridges as it added character to my snowman. I could not find any Fruit rollups, so I just used Airheads and it worked just as well.

With the orange candy slices, cut very small strips shaped as a carrot for the nose. Use a toothpick to poke a hole to stick the orange candy slice in the marshmellow. Doing this procedure will make you feel like a surgeon, so be very careful as this is a delicate food procedure. Any wrong movement will make the nose crooked and you will most likely be sued by the snowman upon waking up and seeing himself.

For the eyes and buttons, you can use food decorative gel. I didn’t have any, so I used chocolate Jimmies.

Next using the pretzel sticks, carefully stab the side of the marshmellow. This will be your arms. You might hear a scream coming from the snowman, but he’ll be ok.

For the hat, use the mint patty for the bottom of the hat and miniature Reeses to add to the top. With a little dab of white icing, use it to hold the top half to the bottom half. Allow to set for a few minutes.

Finally, add the scarf around the snowman’s neck and you’re done! I later put the buttons on my little snowman with the Jimmies. This is a fun little activity to do with family, friends or little ones. Hope you’re having fun cooking up delicious recipes and enjoying baking fun Christmas desserts. I’ll be back with two more recipes for the Christmas, so be on the lookout for that. I tried to finish this before midnight, but it took me longer than I initially thought with all the uploading and editing.

Until next time! xoxo

16 thoughts on “Making a snowman cupcake

  1. Ahhh!! I’m going to make this with my mom when we make our Christmas cookies this weekend! This is so darn cute! I printed it out and have it in my recipe box =) I love the fringes on the scarf. =)

    1. Indeed it is! It’s all about the scarf, yes? I’ve never seen a cupcake snowman with fringes on his scarf, so I couldn’t control myself and had to add it! Sounds like a lot of fun, hope you and your mom have fun decorating your little snowman! If you can, tweet a picture of it so I can see it! 😀

    1. Oh, she’s going to love it! My son has the video version of making the snowman, so around this weekend, we’ll have the video up. His video is made especially for kids and will be up in his blog under my “BlogRoll” of AdventuresofaBoy. She’ll love putting the scarf around the snowman as that was my son’s favorite favorite part, lol!

  2. What a surprising post this was. And fun and appropriate for the season coming up! This is a great idea, I will just have to try it out myself. Maybe even my kids aren’t too big to enjoy making snowman cupcakes.

  3. Don’t have confectionery or baking skills, but the easy explained steps are tempting enough to try out this delicious delight. Will make an attempt sometime this week.

My Lords and Ladies, tell me thine thoughts if it pleases thee below...

