Mastering the Japanese Tea Ceremony

Every since I saw the movie “Karate Kid 2” where Daniel(san) sits and has tea served to him by his Japanese girlfriend, I just wanted to know more about this sacred ceremony. Years had passed and I forgot about it, until a few years ago when I once again got curious about this tea ceremony. There is something so special and meaningful of seeing a drink served through one’s heart through many hand movements. There is an art to this process. When you give a drink as simple as tea known as “Matcha” to your guest in Japan, it’s a ritual. It may look simple to most, but the hand movements have to be absolutely perfect with each gesture.

I love challenges and hope to begin learning about this process next year sometime.

Believe it or not, there are many variations of the tea ceremony. I can tell specifically when it comes to laying down the spoon. Here is the version I like the best in the link below.


Video credit: taletubby

12 thoughts on “Mastering the Japanese Tea Ceremony

  1. Alex Nikinauta

    JavaGirl Hey , all blue with you dear friend?I know nothing about Japanese tea ceremony !

    But what I can comment is that the word is English Tea similarity in pronunciation Te in Spanish ,Castellano.

    I especially like taking black tea ice cream!But I can not drink black tea, it really makes my blood pressure rise !

    I have watched another movie with this ritual Japanese tea , I do not remember the name of the movie, just remember the scenes in memory .

    Ok dear JavaGirl a hug you affectionately good weekend !

    1. “Cha”. Perhaps you mean that? 🙂 Green tea is very good for you because it is full of antioxidants, much like acai. I miss acai icecream! Quero um agora, rsrs! Abracos para tu tambem!

    1. Indeed and it’s very romantic if you are serving it to a special someone (not that I know because I have not mastered it yet). I love tea too! My tea is the Green Tea from Arizona and the Southern Brew. I grab them when I’m in a rush. When I’m home I make hot tea (rasberry), but I LOVE trying the most exotic teas from all over the world. The more exotic the tea, the better it is for me as my taste buds (for tea) is extremely adventureous. Thanks for stopping by and it’s great having you on both of my twitter accounts. If I’m not bloggin everyday, at least people can follow my tweets to see what I’m up to. Hehe.

  2. Count me in as one who doesn’t know squat about Japanese tea ceremonies … well, I must also admit that it isn’t on my bucket list. In other words, more power to ya! Hope you had a good Thanksgiving.

    1. Yes, I’m still working on my bucket list. I tend to do them on a yearly basis. I’m a fan of the Japanese culture and try to study a lot about their traditions and meanings. I had a nice Thanksgiving, thank you afrankangle. I hope yours was just as wonderful!

      1. … and my Thanksgiving was a good one. Had a good visit with at my sister-in-law with the entire family present …. about 3-and-a-half hour drive. Thanks for asking … Keep smiling!

  3. I can only agree with you. There is something transcendental about the beauty of the Japanese tea ceremony. Seemingly so simply and yet so perfect. With so much grace, dignity and respect involved both in regards to the tea itself and the persons involved. Once a very long time ago I was doing a story about Sumo wrestlers in the outskirts of Tokyo early, early in the morning. After I was done shooting a young couple out of nowhere and invited me to their small apartment nearby. That’s where I first time experience the beauty of the tea ceremony. You may well invite me whenever you have learned to master the ceremony! Would be a great pleasure.

    1. That sounds awesome! Maybe one day when you’re visiting your girlfriend in Seattle (a place I want to go to anyways), I could make tea for the both of you. I might be nervous. Can’t promise you both, but I will try to learn this beautiful tea ceremony. I’m happy you know about this. It’s definately a practice worth watching and especially the tender care and purpose of each gesture. By the time one receives their cup of tea, you know it has been prepared by loving hands. It’s a wonderful tradition; Do you have the story about the Sumo wrestlers?

  4. Hey JavaGirl , I remember the movie “Karate Kid 2”, Hey.. I know that scene! I like the 2 first movies. As you know I’m a tea drinker (not really like coffee 🙂 ) Anyways.. I think this blog is really interesting.. I’ll make try this “Japanese tea ceremony” so EXCITED!! 😉

    1. Me too! I think my feet would fall asleep. I wonder how they do it…to sit that long on their knees. It’s a beautiful and respectful ceremony. If only people would show that amount of respect to their guests when they come over for tea. 😉

My Lords and Ladies, tell me thine thoughts if it pleases thee below...

