A song for you: Music of the Night

I was watching “The Hunchback of Notre Dame” (1939 version) and thought how similar it is to “Beauty and the Beast” and “Phantom of the Opera”. All three (and I’m sure there are others that could be included) have the same plot where the heroes of the story are disfigured and are kept away, or by their own choice, from society due to their facial or physical desformity. Yet, these characters were able to find true love or friendship only by those who saw beyond their physical appearance. It takes a compassionate and loving person to look beyond physical appearance to see the true beauty of the heart. I chose this song because I love the tones and high notes sung in this movie; it’s so moving and emotional. I’m a nocturnal person, so I’m always listening to music late at night. Hence, the title of the song.

Would you date or marry someone if they were horribly disfigured? Would you care if society made fun of you because of who you loved or wanted to be with? I would. I don’t care what society think or what they would say. As my friends know, I’m very protective of my friends or loved ones. Even if they are different. I thought about the life of the person called “Elephant Man” and wondered what his life was like. Did he have an Esmeralda in his life? I’m the type of person who if I saw someone who was “different” sitting by themselves, I’d go up to them and sit next to them and strike up a conversation. People who look different are some of the loneliest people, but yet there are others who have true friends and loved ones who love them for who they are. If you see someone today who might be the typical person most society just walks by or ignores, go up to them. Make them smile or laugh. You never know, your sincere thoughfulness might just be what they needed!

My Lords and Ladies, tell me thine thoughts if it pleases thee below...

