A voice of a princess

I am more than delighted to be writing about this on this blog. I was researching many YouTube videos that had to do with Disney. What started out as searching for “how to become a Disney character” and watching what people went through to be part of the Disney franchise and work there, ended up in a different subject. However; I stumbled across voice over artists from the past (and present) who were the voices and singers of famous Disney princesses!

Here is the link to watch: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0taygD6YMUE&feature=related

I’ve been told over and over for the past 16 years that I have a voice for film and tv (and yes, radio too). At first, when my friends would tell me this, I’d blow it off and thank them. When my friends who are in the voice over industry and music told me I should pursue becoming a voice over artist, then I listened as they are professionals. It got me thinking, “Well, maybe I actually do have a shot!”. Every year, something has come up and I can’t do it. This year I will do it. I will make a demo and connect with a voice coach and start seriously on it this Fall. I’ll keep you posted as this is a dream.

Anyways, that’s why I was particularly interested in this video. The many voices from the beginning brought many happy childhood memories. It was nice to finally see the faces of the princesses that I grew to love. I’m a big fan of Cinderella and Ariel. When I was 5 years old or so, I met Cinderella. She was incredibly sweet and as a child I remember looking up at her and actually believing it was her, although I thought it was a bit strange she went from cartoon form to real life, but hey. What can you do? I still marveled at her enormous blue dress, her blond hair and her sweetness. As a 5 year old, I couldn’t imagin a sweeter princess! I was shy, so she tried her best to bring me out of my shyness.

Ilene Woods was the voice for Cinderella. There was something so sweet, genuine, soft and soothing about her voice. As a child of 5 years old, English was my third language. Disney movies did have a part in me learning the English language and how to pronounce specific words seemlessly. People tell me I have a soothing voice too.

As little girls, we dream of being a princess. We love the idea of romance and having a man come rescue us of chores and cruel evil step-sisters! I guess some would say, the movies made girls to act too “dependent” and “helpless”, but I don’t think that is the case. If anything, the storylines taught, honesty, faith, bravery and unconditional love….and those values are definately appreciated and needed in today’s society. It’s getting harder for real men to find a “lady” with manners who is polite.

I have a picture with Cinderella, but I can’t find it. Oh well. There I am with my future home. Lol. I will be returning there for the third time in my life. Should be fun!

So in saying all of this, movies once again bring such lovely memories for me. I hope you have a childhood movie you like from a long time ago. Did you ever wonder who was the person behind the character? The voice that brought life into these Disney heroes and princesses?

Goodnight! Sweet dreams and don’t forget to wish upon a star!

My Lords and Ladies, tell me thine thoughts if it pleases thee below...

