I don’t want a knight in shining armor.

3 Apr

knight

Because who wants a knight that doesn’t want his armor to get dirty? Am I right ladies? :)

19 Responses to “I don’t want a knight in shining armor.”

  1. JMC813 April 3, 2014 at 12:47 am #

    I have always said I would be her knight in tarnished armor, as the years of self recognition through my education in the school of life has left my armor both tarnished and dented, but I remain standing and more than strong enough to come to the rescue of any fair damsel in distress. LOL.

    • Java Girl April 3, 2014 at 12:54 am #

      And that…is the best kind of knight any girl could ask for! Thanks for the comment!

  2. silkpurseproductions April 3, 2014 at 8:35 am #

    So true, Java Girl. I love JMC813’s answer.

    • Java Girl April 3, 2014 at 5:49 pm #

      Yes, I always love hearing how a male thinks about such quotes. :)

  3. bensbitterblog April 3, 2014 at 2:32 pm #

    I don’t think I would fit inside my armor. It sure would be hard to walk around in too. By the way, I’m guessing if Mr. Hiddleston showed up in shining armor you would reconsider.

    • Java Girl April 3, 2014 at 5:45 pm #

      I’m sure there are armor sets for all sizes. Have no fear. If Mr. Hiddleston showed up wearing a shining armor (he wouldn’t anyways), I would reconsider. He could show up wearing a potato sack and I wouldn’t mind! LOL.

      • bensbitterblog April 4, 2014 at 3:52 pm #

        I figured as much. I think we was thinking about doing a medievel movie so maybe he might be wearing one someday.

      • Java Girl April 4, 2014 at 7:36 pm #

        Wait….who is “we”? Are you keeping something a secret from me? Are you two collaborating something without my knowledge?!! I think he’s worn some type of armor in past movies. I haven’t watched every movie he’s been in, so I wouldn’t know. He would look nice in brown leather. Kinda of what Jackdeath was talking about. That sounds hot. On a man. And I’m not talking about heat either. Lol.

      • bensbitterblog April 6, 2014 at 2:38 pm #

        Yep. I’m coaching Mr. Hiddleston on how to woo you. Basically I’m telling him that in order to date and marry you, all he would have to do is say words. Any words.

      • Java Girl April 6, 2014 at 8:10 pm #

        Any words? So he could basically say, “Cid, you look like an alien” and that would be ok? I’d be swoon by that?! GASP. I’m laughing at the mere and mortal though of you “coaching” Mr. Hiddleston. Then again. You are totally right. Any words spoken in a clean and crisp voice is fine with me. :P

      • bensbitterblog April 6, 2014 at 11:23 pm #

        I may be mere and mortal, but I am evil buddies with Tommy, so COWER IN FEAR!

  4. jackdeth72 April 4, 2014 at 12:52 pm #

    Hi, Java Girl:

    Shouldn’t that be “mettle” instead of “metal”?

    Knights in Shining Armor are cool, but they required a Block & Tackle pulley to lift them fully suited upon their trusty steed. Knights could also use their suits of armor as a form of payment of ransom, should they be captured. Suits of armor were some of the most expensive and time consuming to tailor to its wearer. Hence, Knights were usually titled, rich and high value targets for the enemy.

    One of the reason chain mail and leather jerkins (vests, waistcoats) were cheaper and more popular amongst lower ranks and tasks (Sappers, Pikemen, Archers, etc).

    Geee… Walking through the Museum at Sandhurst University (The UK’s West Point) ages ago supplies a wealth of knowledge!

    • Java Girl April 4, 2014 at 7:32 pm #

      Wait….did you say leather? Mmm. I love leather! Especially black leather. Wow. So knights actually had to use a pulley to lift them? That’s….so unattractive. Lol. Yet funny. I love archers. It’s in my blood to like it anyways as my ancestors and blood line are expert archers. I think I may be taking some fun archery lessons later this Spring. I’m quite jealous you walked through the Museum at Sandhurst Uni. I love medieval culture and clothing. Very fascinating and interesting information. That’s why I love it when you stop by. You enlighten me with your brilliance!

  5. thelostkerryman April 6, 2014 at 7:26 pm #

    Well, my forebears ran naked into battle with paint on their faces so we did not have armor in the “golden days.”- although the Anglo Irish did. Another reason not to want a knight in shining armor- if it still shining, then he has probably soiled himself inside. a real knight would take it all off, laying it down where it would get dirty, and “drop his load at the side of the road.”

    • Java Girl April 6, 2014 at 8:13 pm #

      The Irish ran naked into battle? I thought only my peeps did that in the hot jungles of the Amazon! Hm. I’ll have to investigate to see how the armor were built. I’m sure they were so incredibly heavy. How uncomfortable!!

  6. swallowedinthesea11 April 10, 2014 at 12:50 pm #

    A wannabe knight.

  7. Lobke Malfait April 25, 2014 at 8:02 pm #

    Haha, That’s so true ;)

    • Java Girl April 26, 2014 at 1:21 am #

      Yep!! Thanks for stopping by and commenting! :)

A penny for your thoughts!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 809 other followers

