Motivational Monday

3 Mar

IMG_113361863671842

What may look like not much to someone in how they would define “success”, is probably that person’s lifetime of determination. Whatever you are doing, just keep at it. Don’t give up. Don’t compare yourself to others who may appear to boast at their success. Sure, there is a time and place for appreciation, but know that you are tending everyday to your success in life and that your own determination, discipline and persistence will pay off. Those qualities are rich, especially for success that is inward and not visually obvious to the eye.

What defines success to you? Do you find yourself comparing your successes in life to others? Does it motivate you to do better or makes you feel hopeless when you see someone else who seems to “have it all”? Success is such a general word to begin with. People often attribute money to success, but sometimes it’s the ones that are unspoken or unseen that are the most powerful.

14 Responses to “Motivational Monday”

  1. silkpurseproductions March 3, 2014 at 11:06 pm #

    Well said, My Friend, well said.

    • Java Girl March 4, 2014 at 12:40 am #

      Haha, why do I think of Charlotte’s Web when you say that? :) Thank you. Very much!

  2. completelydisappear March 4, 2014 at 6:18 am #

    I think my success in life can come with a small prize such as completing my tasks at work, solving some issues, or winning over myself in something I used to do. Usually, I rarely compare my success with others. I generally compete with myself. Not in a serious way though, just for getting inspiration.

    • Java Girl March 4, 2014 at 11:34 pm #

      Wow. I couldn’t have said it better myself! :)

  3. jackdeth72 March 5, 2014 at 11:21 am #

    Hi, Java Girl:

    Success?

    Finding no typos in the final read of a guest review before sending it off to be posted.

    Seeing close to forty yards of drive way asphalt cleared from under inches of just shoveled snow.

    Knocking twenty plus orange clay birds out of the sky while enjoying a cycle of skeet.

    Putting together a batch of chili or a stew and having it taste like it did when I was a kid ages ago.

    And yes. I am not a huge fan of Mondays.

    • Java Girl March 5, 2014 at 9:22 pm #

      I love successes like those that you mentioned. :) It’s those little and unconventional successes that mean a lot and are huge in our minds. Hey. Knocking twenty orange clay birds sounds like fun. I’ve gotta try that someday. I love chili. I have yet to make one-which I should so I can stop buying them from Wawa. Lol. Aw. Well, I then dedicate this Movitvation Monday just for you then Jackdeth72. :D (My pleasure) Hope your Thursday is better than your Mondays.

  4. swallowedinthesea11 March 6, 2014 at 2:12 pm #

    There are a plethora of definitions for success. It depends on who you ask. I do agree that it can make me hopeless when I see others who have it all, or succeed in an area where I have failed. It makes me want to do better. Just got to have a barrier up of not trying to convince yourself that you’re better than the person you see across the street. There’s a difference between ‘if she/he can do it, why can’t I?’ and boasting your achievements with a god-complex.

    • Java Girl March 6, 2014 at 6:42 pm #

      Hehe. Plethora. Love that word. Kinda just slips off the tongue so easily. Well, I think your blog posts about TWD are the *best* here on WP and overall. Believe me, I’ve read other TWD posts and they don’t compare to yours. I think anyone can train their minds to not compare to someone across the table or street. I know I’ve learned to do that. One of my favorite female bloggers gets over a million hits a day or so. She’s perfect in every way physically. Flawless. Perfect hair, legs, arms, waist, face etc. She’s got a hot boyfriend and makes millions. I admire her, but at the same time I know she gets sick a lot, has issues with her father and is deaf in one ear. I think back at my life and am thankful that despite someone else looking perfect initially, that they aren’t really perfect. They may look at me and think, “Wow. She has it all together. ” Most days I don’t compare. When I do, I have to remind myself of how far I’ve come and great qualities about myself. “Raindrops and roses….” Lol.

      • swallowedinthesea11 March 7, 2014 at 1:04 pm #

        I couldn’t agree more. Perfect should be rid of in the dictionary. And thank you for the compliment. I never really had any purpose of starting a blog. But you know, once the boat sails it keeps on sailing. No point of stopping in the middle of nowhere.

        Enjoy your posts very much =]]

      • Java Girl March 8, 2014 at 10:59 pm #

        Well, I’m glad your ship is sailing. May it never, ever stop. Hope you find many adventurous journeys as you sail. If you ever decided to stop in the middle of nowhere-call me. I’ll bring you a motor for your boat…or a huge fan to get you started once again! :P

      • swallowedinthesea11 March 7, 2014 at 1:09 pm #

        BTW, I think the mutated one-eye rabbit with the little carrot is in a better spot. The one who reaped the big carrot will have a tough time pulling it out, lol.

      • Java Girl March 8, 2014 at 10:57 pm #

        Yes, a harder time pulling it out, but the rabbit will have way more to eat than the mutated one-eyed rabbit who will have just a bite or two! :P Your comment made me giggle!

  5. Holistic Wayfarer March 6, 2014 at 11:08 pm #

    Interesting blog. =) I appreciate the emphasis on the invisible things.

    Success is something I have explored on my blog. I just wrote on it as a guest, too:

    http://shatteredsmoke.com/2014/03/06/what-makes-a-successful-blogger/

    Hope it speaks to your blogging.

    Cheerleading your way.

    HW

    • Java Girl March 8, 2014 at 11:00 pm #

      Why thank you so much! I truly love your comment! I will check out your post as soon as I can. Thanks for stopping by!

A penny for your thoughts!

The Grimdark Review

Fantasy book reviews, interviews, thoughts, and ideas.

Together

Short Story about human being

Boho Hobo: Catching Dreams on the Road

A healing journey of a girl who set out to discover herself on a pilgrimage, traveling with no plan - except to follow the signs - ticking off her life dreams one by one and catching those of others

CedricCed

RealEntertainment. No Gossip

Mommy Jo, Blogs!

A personal blog which showcases interesting stories about the author's musings, insights, passion, experiences, thoughts, and anything life has to offer.

On The Heath

World's Worst Writer Working

Couple's Chronicle

Daily Article Drafts To A Better Writing Skill

Life ramblings from a 20-something woman

Career, love, sex and chaos.

WEIRD ENCOUNTERS

Yes. That Just Happened.

Black Mutts

A Mix of My Favorite Distractions

Ramona Crisstea

I dream of painting and then I paint my dream

goddess0510

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Mamamaitri

photography, words...singer'n stuff creative...livin' lovin' to engage, sharin', lookin' at 'n takin' snaps

The Rambling Gardener

More rambling than gardening!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 918 other followers

